Main News Nation

5 Madhes-based parties unite to form Rastriya Janata Party

KATHMANDU — Five Madhes-based parties have announced their unification to form Rastirya Janata Party on Thursday.

Mahantha Thakur-led Tarai Madhesh Democratic Party, Rajendra Mahato-led Sadbhawna Party, Mahendra Raya Yadav-led Tarai Madhesh Sadbhawana Party, Sarat Singh Bhandari-led Rastriya Madhes Samajwadi Party and Raj Kishore Yadav-led Madhesi Janadhikari last night joined hands to form a new party.

ALSO READ :  All-party meeting inconclusive; UML, Madhes-based parties want local polls in single phase

The unified party has decided to choose ‘umbrella’ as its election symbol.

The unified party has decided to form a group committee to run the party following a dispute among the leadership.

The five parties have altogether 24 lawmakers in the Parliament.