Connect with us

Voting in progress for president’s election

Gorkha Post




The voting procedure for the presidential election has begun at 11:00 am in the Legislature-Parliament. The voting should proceed till 2:00 pm.

The Legislature-Parliament is electing the President for the first time after the promulgation of new constitution through the Constituent Assembly.

CPN-UML Vice-chairman Bidhya Devi Bhandari has registered her candidacy to the post of the President with backing from the political parties of ruling colliation while Nepali Congress leader Kul Bahadur Gurung has also filed his nomination to the post.

The Legislature-Parliament Secretariat said that the vote counts would begin from 2:30 today itself and the results would be announced in the Legislature-Parliament meeting to be held at 5:00 this evening.


Continue Reading


Warm clothes provided to elderly, disabled people of Gorkha





GORKHA- Warm clothes have been distributed to elderly and disabled people at Bhimsen Thapa Rural Municipality-7 in the district.

The rural municipality provided clothes including blankets to 217 elderly people and 23 people with disabilities within the ward. The clothes distribution aims to help the people overcome chilling cold, said the ward chairperson Narayan Shrestha.

“Many people affected by the earthquake of April, 2015 have been living in temporary shelters. Mostly elderly and disabled people have been affected by cold. So the clothes we have provided will give a relief to them,” he said.

Continue Reading