Connect with us

Voting for NC PP leader underway

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — Voting for the post of Nepali Congress Parliamentary Party (PP) leader is underway at the PP Office in Singha Durbar on Wednesday.

Party President Sher Bahadur Deuba and senior leader Ram Chandra Paudel are in the election fray for the post.

Both, Deuba and Paudel, had registered their candidacy for the election of PP leader yesterday.

The voting started at 11 am and will end at 2 pm today. A candidate must secure no less than 104 votes to get elected to the post of parliamentary party leader.

The election to pick the main opposition leader in Parliament has been viewed with much enthusiasm outside the NC also as without a main opposition leader in Parliament since the last two months; the Constitution Council has been not able take any decision for lack of a quorum.

The position of PP leader of the main opposition and the largest party in Parliament had been lying vacant since the demise of the then party president and PP leader Sushil Koirala on February 9.

Continue Reading


NC consults experts on govt’s policies and programs





KATHMANDU — The main opposition party, Nepali Congress, has taken suggestions from experts regarding the government’s policies and programs.

A meeting of the Nepali Congress parliamentary party convened at the parliamentary party’s office in Singha Durbar today consulted with the economists and former bureaucrats on the policies and programs of the government.

The government presented its policies and programs for the fiscal year 2018/19 in the Federal Parliament on Monday.

Deliberations will be held on the policies and programs in the House of Representatives and the National Assembly from Wednesday.

NC leader Dilendra Prasad Badoo, talking to the National News Agency, RSS, said that the meeting reviewed the government’s policies and programs and also discussed on issues the party would speak on in parliament.

Before this, the Nepali Congress had decided to put its views in parliament by forming thematic committees.

Continue Reading