Connect with us

UML, UCPN (Maoist) sign 14-point deal on govt formation

Gorkha Post




CPN-UML and UCPN (Maoist) have reached a 14-point understanding regarding the formation of new government.

The understanding signed by UML Chairperson KP Sharma Oli and UCPN (Maoist) Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal has come up with commitment to address issues raised by agitating Tarai-Madhesh parties, Tharu group, indigenous nationalities and different oppressed groups through dialogue.

The two leaders also agreed to reject unnecessary foreign pressure and interference by safeguarding Nepal’s sovereignty, territorial integrity, national independence and people’s right to self-decision and go for effective implementation of the new constitution protecting historical achievements institutionalized through the statute.

Underlining the need of consolidating national unity with broader support from political parties and the public on the constitution, the two parties reached an understanding to make necessary constitutional amendments in enabling environment for effective implementation of the constitution through dialogue.

The agreement also stated to expedite reconstruction and new construction works being sensitive to the national disaster resulted in by the earthquakes and implement the inclusive democracy with social justice institutionalized by the new constitution.

Formulation of policies, programs and plans keeping the nation’s development and prosperity in the center and their effective implementation, control of corruption with promoting good governance, control of price rise and ensure easy supply of daily essentials to the people are stated in the agreement paper.

Respect to people’s demand sought through a peaceful way and their sentiments and not to use of unnecessary force by the state in the peaceful agitation are included in the agreement.

As per the agreement, both parties will remain committed to executing the works of Truth and Reconciliation Commission and Commission into Inquiry of Displaced as per the letter and spirit of the Comprehensive Peace Accord.

They also agreed to come up with a planned-wise policies and programs to arrange supplies of emergency services in immediate and long-term situations bearing in mind the unannounced blockade and its impact facing the country and the need to make the nation self-reliant.

They will remain active to ensure Nepal’s right to access to transit trade guaranteed by bilateral and multilateral conventions, agreements and covenants, respecting to the constitution promulgated by the people’s elected Constituent Assembly.

Besides, they agreed to call on the neighboring countries for normalizing the relations existing between two close neighbors.

The last point of the agreement is about maintaining friendly relations with all the countries including the neighbors on the basis of mutual respect, equality and interests in accordance with the UN’s Charter and the principle of Panchasheel adopted by the country.


Continue Reading


Hoteliers asked to be sensitive against GBV





KATHMANDU- Stakeholders have called upon the hoteliers to remain more sensitive in order to reduce the gender-based violence (GBV) taking place in hotel sector.

During an interaction programme in Tarakeshwor Municipality in the capital city on Saturday, the speakers said that the hoteliers are expected to become more aware since more cases of rapes and violence against women take place in the hotels.

A large number of hoteliers attended the interaction programme organized as a part of the 16-day campaign against GBV.

On the occasion, lawmaker of Kathmandu Constituency No. 7 Ram Bir Manandhar said that partnership among all was needed to end GBV and argued that social networking sites were responsible for the increased cases of GBV in the recent times.

Likewise, Mayor of Tarakeshwor Municipality Rameshwor Bohora pointed out the need for cooperation with the police administration as well as massive public awareness programmes to end such ill practices rampant in the hotel business.

Also speaking at the programme, Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) of Balaju Metropolitan Police Circle Chiranjivi Koirala urged the hoteliers to keep the details of every new entrant in the hotels since hotels are used for the purpose of women’s trafficking.

Continue Reading