Connect with us

UML candidate Gurung withdraws her nomination to support Dipak Manange

Gorkha Post



LAMJUNG — CPN-UML candidate Khanda Lama Gurung has withdrawn her nomination to support independent candidate Rajiv Gurung aka Deepak Manange on Wednesday.

Chief Election Officer of Manang and district Judge Deepak Dhakal confirmed  that UML’s candidate Khanda had withdrawn her name. Independent candidate Rajiv Gurung will now rival with Congress’ Karma Gurung.

Khanda reached Chief Election Officer’s office at around 1 pm today and withdrew her nomination.

Manange had filed nominations as an independent candidate after UML central committee’s refusal to provide election ticket to him despite the district committee’s unanimously decided to pick him as the party candidate. Manange had recently joined UML.

He claimed that his victory is obvious as Gurung’s supporters had promised him to help in the elections. Gurung and Manange are brother and sister in relationship.

CPN-UML Manang’s President Polden Chopang Gurung has also agreed to support the independent candidate Manange after the withdraw from Gurung.

After Gurung withdrew her nomination, there will be a tough competition between Manange and Karma Gurung from Nepali Congress.

Continue Reading

Main News

Tenure of NA members determined though lucky draw

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — Tenure of members of the National Assembly has been determined through a lucky draw method on Monday.

As per the lucky draw conducted at the Federal Parliament in New Baneshwor today, the term of opposition party Nepali Congress lawmaker Surendra Pandey has fixed for two years, while the term of Nepal Communist Party lawmaker Dinanath Sharma has been fixed for four years.

Similarly, Nainkala Ojha, Shashikala Dahal, Udaya Sharma Poudel, Shanti Kumari Adhikari, Komal Oli and Taradevi Bhatta would serve as NA members for four years.

Likewise, the tenure of members — Bina Pokharel, Pramila Kumari, Dil Kumari Rawal, Deepa Gurung, Anita Devkota, Nanda Chhapai and Indu Kadariya — was determined for six years.

The term of Sarita Prasain, Mukta Kumari Yadav, Dhan Kumari Khatiwada, Binda Devi Ale, Mina Budha, Yutal Tamang and Kamala Kumari Oli has been determined for two years.

Of the 59 NA members, 56 were elected from seven provinces—eight from each province, with three others being nominated by the President on the recommendation by the government.

All the clusters have been divided into three categories of two years, four years and six years and the lawmakers should pick one of the three categories.

Continue Reading