Connect with us

Main News

Trishuli Bus plunge : Death toll reaches 31, govt forms probe committee

Gorkha Post



DHADING — Death toll in Dhading bus accident has reached 31, according to SP Dhrubaraj Raut, Chief at the District Police Office, Dhading while authorities said the toll could rise further.

The incident took place when the ill-fated bus, Na 6 Kha 1467, belonging to Santosh Travels, heading towards Kathmandu from Rajbiraj plunged into the Trishuli River at Ghatbesi in Dhading district at around 5 am on Saturday.

Police have recovered 20 bodies from the river, out of which 12 bodies have been identified while identities of remaining bodies are yet to be ascertained.

They are identified as Sishi Kumari Jha,  Chandrarekha, Chandrawati Jha, Manjit Kumar Jha, Raj Kumar Yadav, Naresh Mukhiya,Parwati Chaudhary, Aditya Yadav, Ramananda Yadav,Ranjit Kumar Jha, Sushant Chaudhary and Indian national Mamata Devi Thakur.

ALSO READ :  Nepal Earthquake: Death toll reaches 7,557

Police along with the locals have begun the rescue operation but as the bus is still inside the river, they see a very slim chance that the trapped passengers could be rescued alive.

Among the severely injured, two have been admitted to the Trauma Centre while others are undergoing treatment at a Gajuri-based hospital.

Meanwhile, the government has formed a three-member committee under the coordination of Home Ministry’s joint secretary Man Bahadur BK to carry out investigations into the accident in which a bus plunged into the Trishuli River in Dhading this morning.

The other two members on the committee are the senior superintendents of Nepal Police and Armed Police Force, according to Home Ministry’s spokesperson Narayan Prasad Sharma Duwadi.

The Ministry has wished for the eternal peace to the departed souls and speedy recovery to those injured in the accident.

Passengers and all the authorities concerned have been urged to take awareness from their respective behalf and pay proper attention to the traffic management.

The Ministry stated that the local administration has been instructed to make all necessary measures to make search and rescue efforts effective and arrangements for ensuring appropriate medical treatment of the injured.

Continue Reading

Main News

PM Oli expands cabinet, 15 new ministers inducted

Gorkha Post



15 new ministers inducted. RSS photo

KATHMANDU — Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has has expanded the Cabinet inducting 15 new ministers from his party CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Centre), increasing the size of his Cabinet to 22 on Friday.With this, the cabinet led by PM Oli has been extended to 21 members.

Six lawmakers from CPN-UML and five from CPN Maoist Centre lawmakers have been inducted as Ministers to the Cabinet. Likewise, three lawmakers are included as Minister of State.

The newly appointed ministers and state ministers were administered the oath of office at President’s office in Sheetal Niwas, by President Bidya Devi Bhandari at Sheetal Niwas amid an official function.

ALSO READ :  Death toll in Pakistan oil tanker explosion rises to 148

The newly ministers are as follows :


Gokarna Bista – Minister for Labour and Employment
Pradeep Kumar Gyawali – Minister for Foreign Affairs
Rabindra Adhikari – Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation
Jagat Bishwakarma – Minister for Youth and Sports
Sher Bahadur Tamang – Minister for Law
Raghubir Mahaseth – Minister for Physical Infrastructure Planning and Development
Gokul Baskota – State Minister for Information and Communication
Padma Kumari Aryal -State Minister for Health and Polulation

CPN Maoist Centre

Barsha Man Pun -Minister for Energy and Water Resources
Giriraj Mani Pokharel – Minister for Education
Shakti Basnet – Minister of Forestry
Chakrapani Khanal – Minister for Agriculture and Cooperatives
Bina Magar – Minister for Drinking Water
Ram Kumari Chaudhary – State Minister for Agriculture and Cooperatives

PM Oli, earlier in the second expansion of his Cabinet,   had appointed CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Ram Bahadur Thapa as Minister for Home Affairs, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Matrika Yadav as Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies, former governor Yabaraj Khatiwada as Minister for Finance, and CPN-UML’s Ishwor Pokharel as Defence Minister.

Continue Reading