Connect with us

Tihar festival begins from today

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The five-day Yama Panchak (Tihar Festival) is beginning from today with individuals lighting oil lamps and venerating Yama, the divine god of death.

Houses are decorated with colourful lights during Tihar. There is a tradition of people going door-to-door performing traditional Deusi and Bhailo songs.

It proclaims the start of Tihar, also called the festival of lights, and is seen by performing different ceremonies according to the Vedic custom. The celebration last for five days.

The first day of the Tihar is called Kag Tihar when crows are worshiped as the messengers of good and bad news.The second day is Kukur Tihar when dogs are worshiped as protectors of the house. The third day is called Gai Tihar and Laxmi Puja. On this day, cows are worshipped. The cow is viewed as the mother and Laxmi, the goddess of riches.

The fourth day of the festival is Govardhan Puja when bulls are worshiped. The Newar communities observe Mha Puja (love of oneself). The day is also the start of Nepal Sambat calendar.

The fifth or the final day of Yama Panchak is Bhai Tika. On this day, sisters put tika on their brothers’ forehead and wish them long life and success. This day is believed to strengthen the bond between brothers and sisters.

According to Panchanga Nirnayak Samitee, the auspicious time for offering and receiving Bhai Tika is 11:55 am on November 13 (Friday) this year. “Bhai Tika can be offered and received for the duration of the day from 11:55 forward,” it informed.


Continue Reading

Main News

Tenure of NA members determined though lucky draw

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — Tenure of members of the National Assembly has been determined through a lucky draw method on Monday.

As per the lucky draw conducted at the Federal Parliament in New Baneshwor today, the term of opposition party Nepali Congress lawmaker Surendra Pandey has fixed for two years, while the term of Nepal Communist Party lawmaker Dinanath Sharma has been fixed for four years.

Similarly, Nainkala Ojha, Shashikala Dahal, Udaya Sharma Poudel, Shanti Kumari Adhikari, Komal Oli and Taradevi Bhatta would serve as NA members for four years.

Likewise, the tenure of members — Bina Pokharel, Pramila Kumari, Dil Kumari Rawal, Deepa Gurung, Anita Devkota, Nanda Chhapai and Indu Kadariya — was determined for six years.

The term of Sarita Prasain, Mukta Kumari Yadav, Dhan Kumari Khatiwada, Binda Devi Ale, Mina Budha, Yutal Tamang and Kamala Kumari Oli has been determined for two years.

Of the 59 NA members, 56 were elected from seven provinces—eight from each province, with three others being nominated by the President on the recommendation by the government.

All the clusters have been divided into three categories of two years, four years and six years and the lawmakers should pick one of the three categories.

Continue Reading