Connect with us


Three Star Club clinches Birat Gold Cup title

Gorkha Post



BIRATNAGAR — Ruslan Three Star Club has clinched the fifth Birat Gold Cup title defeating the departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club 3-0 in the final match played at the Shahid Stadiumon Monday.

Both the teams got several good chances in the match among which the first fell to Three Star. A goal from Ananta Tamang when he headed the ball into the net from a Sunil Bal corner in the 56th minute helped important lead to the Three Star.

Bimal Gharti Magar scored a brace in the final 15 minutes of the match. Magar first scored from the spot kick in the 76th minute giving Three Star a 2-0 lead. He then second in the 89th minute helping Three Star make 3-0 to lift the title.

Army got a chance after two minutes, but a poor free kick from George Prince Karki could not prove fruitful.Just a minute after that, Karki got another free kick but that went fruitless. Army got another chance in the 35th minute, but Tanka Basnet could not utilize it again.

ALSO READ :  Sandip to play in Pakistani Super League

Three Star, with this title win, has clinched its fifth title this season as earlier, they won the Itahari Gold Cup, the Budha Subba Gold Cup, the Tilotama Gold Cup and the Madan Bhandari Gold Cup.

Three Star took home Rs 1.27 million with the win, while the runner-up Army was prized with Rs 551,000.

Three Star’s Tamang was named the most valuable player of the tournament and was rewarded with a motorbike.

Likewise, Three Star’s Alan Neupane was declared the best goalkeeper while Army’s Bimal Pandey the best defende. Three Star’s Bal the best midfielder, Three Star’s Megh Raj KC the best coach of the tournament and Army’s Bharat Khawas the best forward. They all got Rs 25,000 each.

Nepal Police Club received the fair play award.

Continue Reading


PM congratulates Nepali national cricket team





KATHMANDU— Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has congratulated Nepali national cricket team for being able to clinch the International T20 series.

PM Oli in a tweet extended best wishes and congratulations saying he was very happy to know Nepal’s win over the UAE by 14 runs in the third match of the series.

ALSO READ :  Niru Thapa chosen captain of women’s national football team

Winning T20 series is another landmark success for Nepali cricket, he said, adding, “It is big achievement for Nepal’s cricket. I would like to heartily congratulate entire members of Nepali cricket squad”.

Continue Reading