Connect with us


Special Court acquits five match-fixing accused former footballers

Gorkha Post



File Photo

KATHMANDU — The Special court has acquitted five former footballers accused of match-fixing in national and international games and their alleged nexus with bookies.

Hearing the case on Thursday, a bench of judges Baburam Regmi, Pramod Kumar Baiddha and Narayan Prasad Pokharel acquitted match-fixing-accused former captain of national football team Sagar Thapa, Sandip Rai, Ritesh Thapa, Anjan KC, Bikash Singh Kshetri, and team physiotherapist Dejiv Thapa.

They were arrested on October 14, 2015 for match fixing. Then a case was filed against them for conspiring against the state. But they were released on bail on November 10 last year.

The alleged footballers facing subversion charges for their alleged involvement in match-fixing of the international games that Nepal played were released on bail, on November 10, 2015.

ALSO READ :  Two matches to take place today under SAFF U-15 Championship

Anjan and Ritesh paid Rs 500,000, Sagar paid Rs 150,000, and the rest paid Rs 50,000, respectively as bail.

Asian football regulatory body had reportedly found the three footballers and one coach guilty of violating article 62 and 69 of the AFC Disciplinary Code in relation to various friendly international matches between 2008 to 2012.

The accused had admitted their involvement in match fixing of international football matches since 2008 to the police officials. However, they had refuted the indictment made against them in the court.

Continue Reading


International Women Kabaddi to take place in Morang





BIRATNAGAR- The International Women Kabaddi Championship is taking place in Budhiganga Rural Municipality of Morang.

The championship is to be held under the aegis of Morang District Kabaddi Association on January 11-13.

ALSO READ :  Former footballer Mani Shah dies aged 51

Association District Chairperson Bhuwaneswor Mandal shared that the championship is to be participated in by the players from four countries, including Nepal, India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Continue Reading