Connect with us

Main News

SC allows swearing-in of three NA members

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The Supreme Court has issued an order to allow the three members of the National Assembly (NA) recommended by the KP Sharma Oli-led government to take the oath of office and secrecy on Wednesday.

KP Sharma Oli-led government had nominated three members — former Vice Chairman of National Planning Commission (NPC) Yubaraj Khatiwada, CPN Maoist Centre lawmaker Ram Narayan Bidari, and former NPC member Bimala Poudel Rai to the NA.

A division bench of Justices Kedar Prasad Chalise and Sarada Prasad Ghimire scraped the interim order issued by the government, paving the way for the swearing-in of Khatiwada,Bidari and Poudel that was stalled on Sunday. Though the swearing-in was stalled, Khatiwada has been appointed as Finance Minister.

Attorney General Agni Kharel, advocate Shambhu Thapa, Tikaram Bhattarai, among other senior advocates had argued on behalf of the government.

ALSO READ :  PM Oli arrives in New Delhi for three-day state visit

Earlier on February 25, a single bench of Justice Prakashman Singh Raut had issued an interim order directing the government not to administer the oath of office and secrecy to the three National Assembly members nominated by President on the recommendation of Oli-led government.

Gopal Basnet, Chandani Joshi and Krishna Prasad Paudel, who were earlier nominated to the NA by the erstwhile She Bahadur Deuba led-government, had filed a writ at the Supreme Court challenging government’s decision to appoint three new members to the NA.

The Deuba-led government had appointed three members to the NA as per the Article 86 Sub Article 2 and Clause ‘B’ of the Constitution, on February 09, 2018.

But, President Bidya Devi Bhandari had revoked Deuba-led government’s decision on the nomination of members to the NA.

Despite Court’s stay order, Former NRB Governor Yubaraj Khatiwada was inducted to the cabinet by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli on Februray 26, 2018 as the Finance Minister.

Continue Reading

Main News

FNNTEA starts pre-booking from today

Pratigya Waiju



KATHMANDU—The federation of Nepalese National Transport Entrepreneurs Association (FNNTEA) has opened the annual pre-Dashain booking from today. The transportation entrepreneurs opened advance booking after the government agreed to increase public transport fares by 10 percent on Saturday.

The advance booking for bus tickets had remained uncertain because the transport operators associated with the FNNTEA had been demanding the government to unfreeze their bank accounts and adjust the fares in view of rising fuel prices.

ALSO READ :  Party unification by Mid-April : PM Oli

Though they said that the booking would be opened from 21 September, the transport operator associated with FNNTEA did not take any booking till yesterday. Only the private transportation companies started pre-booking from 21 September.

Continue Reading