Connect with us

Ruling NC, UML to ask Maoists to come back to talks

Gorkha Post




The ruling parties NC and CPN-UML are preparing to call the UCPN (Maoist)-led opposition alliance once again to sit for talks in an effort to bring the front to a negotiating table to seek consensus on the disputed issues of constitution drafting.

In a joint meeting held at Prime Minister Sushil Koirala’s residence on Thursday evening, second-rung leaders of the ruling parties suggested that the initiative should resume formal converses with the opposition as soon as possible.

They warned that complexities could emerge once the Constituent Assembly starts voting on the disputed issues.

Sources near to the government said the Prime Minister is planning to call the Maoists to come back to the negotiating table assuring that there is space for bargain even as the CA has started preparation for the voting process.

The ruling parties, which have begun the process to set up questionnaires on the disputes, are in a fix after the opposition declined to take an interest in the CA process and announced fresh plans of protest.

The NC and the UML are holding an alternate meeting on Friday before making a announcement.

Continue Reading

Main News

Tenure of NA members determined though lucky draw

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — Tenure of members of the National Assembly has been determined through a lucky draw method on Monday.

As per the lucky draw conducted at the Federal Parliament in New Baneshwor today, the term of opposition party Nepali Congress lawmaker Surendra Pandey has fixed for two years, while the term of Nepal Communist Party lawmaker Dinanath Sharma has been fixed for four years.

Similarly, Nainkala Ojha, Shashikala Dahal, Udaya Sharma Poudel, Shanti Kumari Adhikari, Komal Oli and Taradevi Bhatta would serve as NA members for four years.

Likewise, the tenure of members — Bina Pokharel, Pramila Kumari, Dil Kumari Rawal, Deepa Gurung, Anita Devkota, Nanda Chhapai and Indu Kadariya — was determined for six years.

The term of Sarita Prasain, Mukta Kumari Yadav, Dhan Kumari Khatiwada, Binda Devi Ale, Mina Budha, Yutal Tamang and Kamala Kumari Oli has been determined for two years.

Of the 59 NA members, 56 were elected from seven provinces—eight from each province, with three others being nominated by the President on the recommendation by the government.

All the clusters have been divided into three categories of two years, four years and six years and the lawmakers should pick one of the three categories.

Continue Reading