Connect with us

Rhinos to be relocated today

Gorkha Post



CHITWAN — Two rhinos are being relocated today from Chitwan Nationa Park to Bardiaya National Park in the midst of a dissents by animal conservationists in Chitwan.

Arrangements are underway to relocate two rhinos on today and three on Wednesday to Bardiya.

The government plan to move one-horned rhinos from Chitwan to Bardiya has met with fierce protest from some conservationists yesterday.

Around one-and-a-half dozen organisations working for animal rights have started protesting the authority’s recent decision to transfer five rare one-horned rhinos from Chitwan National Park to Bardiya National Park.

Conservationists affiliated to various organisations, who are protesting against the relocation plan submitted a memorandum to Chitwan Chief District Officer Binod Prakash Singh, urging him to stop the entire process on Monday.

The protesting conservationists argued that the BNP is “not a safe place” for rhino conservation. They claimed that 83 rhinos have been shifted to Bardiya from Chitwan at different times since 1985, but last year’s census showed that there were only 29 pachyderms in the BNP.

The five rhinos are being relocated as per a decision of the Ministry of Forest and Soil Conservation taken last year. The authorities are planning to move 30 one-horned rhinos from the CNP to the BNP in next three years.

Continue Reading

Main News

Tenure of NA members determined though lucky draw

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — Tenure of members of the National Assembly has been determined through a lucky draw method on Monday.

As per the lucky draw conducted at the Federal Parliament in New Baneshwor today, the term of opposition party Nepali Congress lawmaker Surendra Pandey has fixed for two years, while the term of Nepal Communist Party lawmaker Dinanath Sharma has been fixed for four years.

Similarly, Nainkala Ojha, Shashikala Dahal, Udaya Sharma Poudel, Shanti Kumari Adhikari, Komal Oli and Taradevi Bhatta would serve as NA members for four years.

Likewise, the tenure of members — Bina Pokharel, Pramila Kumari, Dil Kumari Rawal, Deepa Gurung, Anita Devkota, Nanda Chhapai and Indu Kadariya — was determined for six years.

The term of Sarita Prasain, Mukta Kumari Yadav, Dhan Kumari Khatiwada, Binda Devi Ale, Mina Budha, Yutal Tamang and Kamala Kumari Oli has been determined for two years.

Of the 59 NA members, 56 were elected from seven provinces—eight from each province, with three others being nominated by the President on the recommendation by the government.

All the clusters have been divided into three categories of two years, four years and six years and the lawmakers should pick one of the three categories.

Continue Reading