Connect with us

Main News

President Bhandari addresses Parliament

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — President Bidya Devi Bhandari, for the first time after parliamentary elections, has addressed both the houses — the House of Representatives and the National Assembly — as per the Article 95 (2) of the Constitution on Thursday.

Addressing the joint assembly of federal parliament today, the head of the state stressed that democracy is not worth if the citizen cannot increase the living standard.

President Bhandari said that the country has entered into a new era of political stability and economic development following successful holding of the three-tier—local, provincial and federal—elections.

Reading out a paper that Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has handed over to her, she said that the successful conclusion of elections has brought an end to the protracted political transition and uncertainty and induced rays of hope for prosperity.

ALSO READ :  Prez approves army mobilization in tremor disaster

She further said, “The mandate from the public has given the way out for the prosperity of the country.”

Offering condolences to the people who sacrificed their lives for the nation, she said that time has come to fulfill the dreams of martyrs to take the country towards the path of prosperity and economic development.

She said, “The public should have an equal approach to the development, optimum use of the natural sources and youths shouldn’t have to go abroad for employment.”

Stressing on coordination with the neighbouring countries for the prosperity and development of the country, the President said that the government should have maintained diplomatic relations with neighbors for the prosperity of the nation.

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, House of Representatives Speaker Krishna Bahadur Mahara and National Assembly Chairperson Ganesh Timalsina, among others, receiveed President at the conference hall,according to Parliament Secretariat Spokesperson Bharat Raj Gautam.

Continue Reading

Main News

RJPN splits in its anniversary, disgruntled leaders form new party

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — A dissatisfied leaders of Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJPN) including Vice Chairman Ashok Kumar Yadav announced on Friday that they have quit the party to form a new party under his leadership.

Organising a press conference at the Reporters’ Club in the Capital on Friday, Yadav and 32 other members left the party and announced a new party named Rastriya Janta Party (Loktantrik). According to which Ashok Kumar Yadav is appointed as a coordinator, Ritesh Kumar Singh, deputy coordinator and Jeevan Shah as general secretary.

Subash Chandari Biraji and Jeevan Sah have been appointed as General Secretaries in the 11-member ad hoc committee while Sadhana Yadav and Lakki Sharma as Secretaries, Madhu Maya Yadav as Treasurer and Dipendra Yadav as spokesperson.

Likewise, Dharma Raj Gupta, Bipana Acharya and Sambhu Pandit are the members of central ad hoc committee.

ALSO READ :  UDMF boycotts parliament meeting

Coordinator Yadav accused the party leadership of remaining indifferent in piling pressure on the government to amend the constitution.

Saying that Madhes is still lagging behind in terms of development, Yadav said the Rastriya Janata Party (Democratic) will focus its activities on development.

LAst year on the same day on April 20, 2017,six Madhes-based parties — Mahantha Thakur-led Tarai Madhes Loktantrik Party, Rajendra Mahato-led Sadbhawana Party, Mahendra Yadav-led Tarai Madhes Sadbhawana Party, Sharat Singh Bhandari-led Rastriya Madhes Samajbadi Party and Rajkishor Yadav-led Madhesi Janadhikar Forum- Ganatantrik and Anil Jha-led Nepal Sadbhawana Party– had announced their unification to form Rastirya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN).

Continue Reading
Advertisement Cheap Air fare and package tours!