Connect with us

Main News

PM Oli instruct stakeholders to formulate a new education policy

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli on Sunday instructed the concerned stakeholders to formulate a new education policy to educate the Nepali people.

Inaugurating a workshop on the ‘National Education Commission for New Education Policy in Federal Nepal’ held by the Ministry of Education in Lalitpur area, PM Oli said, “It is a matter of shame that even in this 21st century people in Nepal are still illiterate, we need to upgrade our education system to say that there are no illiterate people in Nepal.”

PM Oli also added that education would upgrade people in attitude, etiquette, behavior and culture necessary for the society and the nation. He further stressed imparting of education according to the students’ talents and aspirations.

He called for an end to the trend to emulate foreign educational system and urged to follow better system in a traditional way, adding it was unusual and a matter of surprise that many students have started to fail.

PM Oli urged all to prepare in order to produce capable human resources in all sectors. He drew attention towards the need to stop making education a means of business rather than a service sector.

Likewise, Minister for Education Girirajmani Pokharel said the Ministry was preparing to form a commission in the wake of the demand for a new educational policy for streamlining the education’s quality and to make it compatible to the new constitution and federal democratic republic set up.

Minister Pokharel said the workshop must provide suggestions on the jurisdiction and member criteria of the commission.

On the occasion, Education Secretary Bishwo Prakash Pandit said a commitment from the political level was crucial for education’s overall development in the country.

ALSO READ :  Government not designed by external forces: PM Oli


Continue Reading

Main News

PM Oli expands cabinet, 15 new ministers inducted

Gorkha Post



15 new ministers inducted. RSS photo

KATHMANDU — Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has has expanded the Cabinet inducting 15 new ministers from his party CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Centre), increasing the size of his Cabinet to 22 on Friday.With this, the cabinet led by PM Oli has been extended to 21 members.

Six lawmakers from CPN-UML and five from CPN Maoist Centre lawmakers have been inducted as Ministers to the Cabinet. Likewise, three lawmakers are included as Minister of State.

The newly appointed ministers and state ministers were administered the oath of office at President’s office in Sheetal Niwas, by President Bidya Devi Bhandari at Sheetal Niwas amid an official function.

ALSO READ :  Nawaz Sharif resigns after being removed by country's top court from office

The newly ministers are as follows :


Gokarna Bista – Minister for Labour and Employment
Pradeep Kumar Gyawali – Minister for Foreign Affairs
Rabindra Adhikari – Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation
Jagat Bishwakarma – Minister for Youth and Sports
Sher Bahadur Tamang – Minister for Law
Raghubir Mahaseth – Minister for Physical Infrastructure Planning and Development
Gokul Baskota – State Minister for Information and Communication
Padma Kumari Aryal -State Minister for Health and Polulation

CPN Maoist Centre

Barsha Man Pun -Minister for Energy and Water Resources
Giriraj Mani Pokharel – Minister for Education
Shakti Basnet – Minister of Forestry
Chakrapani Khanal – Minister for Agriculture and Cooperatives
Bina Magar – Minister for Drinking Water
Ram Kumari Chaudhary – State Minister for Agriculture and Cooperatives

PM Oli, earlier in the second expansion of his Cabinet,   had appointed CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Ram Bahadur Thapa as Minister for Home Affairs, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Matrika Yadav as Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies, former governor Yabaraj Khatiwada as Minister for Finance, and CPN-UML’s Ishwor Pokharel as Defence Minister.

Continue Reading