Connect with us

Parties agree to change demarcation of provinces

Gorkha Post




Leader of the four big parties including Madhesi People’s Rights Forum –Democratic discussed the most recent dispute in demarcation of provinces at Prime Minister’s official residence at Baluwatar on Sunday.

Following the meeting, major parties are learnt to have agreed to change the demarcation of the borders after consulting with disgruntled parties. It is stated that parties are ready to forge maximum consensus on the disputed issues by holding discussions with parties.

Leader Gachhadar who on Friday exited the four parties meeting being dissatisfied over the three parties’ seven-province model attended the today’s meeting and presented alternative of going with eight provinces as it was also mentioned in 16-point pact so as to address the issues of Madhesi and Tharu communities.

Similarly, UCPN (Maoist) leader Narayan Kaji Shrestha shared that they forged agreement on holding a dialog soon.

Prime Minister Koirala will make a public appeal for the dialogue to all the dissenting groups, urging them to do so by stopping all programs of protest.

Prime Minister and Nepali Congress President Sushil Koirala, NC senior leader Sher Bahadur Deuba, Vice-president Ram Chandra Poudel, CPN-UML Chair KP Sharma Oli, pioneer Madhav Kumar Nepal, Vice-seat Bhim Rawal, UCPN (Maoist) Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal, pioneers Baburam Bhattarai, Narayan Kaji Shrestha and MPRF-D Chair Gachhadar were present in the meeting.

The Constitution Drafting Committee is to table the final bill of the draft of the constitution in today’s CA meeting.


Continue Reading


Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih wins presidency

Gorkha Post



MALE — Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has beaten incumbent Abdulla Yameen according to provisional results, the country’s Elections Commission says.

Results released by the Elections Commission showed Mr Solih securing 133,808 votes (58.3 percent) compared to the 95,526 for incumbent Abdulla Yameen. The voter turnout was over 88 per cent out of the 262,000-strong electorate.

The Maldives government has acknowledged the opposition’s victory after the vote on Sunday, a surprise defeat for President Abdulla Yameen who was widely expected to win.

There were no other candidates.

Mr Solih had the backing of a united opposition trying to oust Mr Yameen, but struggled for visibility with the electorate, with local media fearful of falling afoul of heavy-handed decrees and reporting restrictions.

“I call on Yameen to respect the will of the people and bring about a peaceful, smooth transfer of power,” Solih said on television, shortly after interim results from the country’s election commission.

“We have won this election with a comfortable majority,” Solih said.

Continue Reading