Connect with us

Nominations for first phase polls of Federal Parliament and Provincial Assemblies in 32 district today

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The filing of nominations of candidates for the first phase of elections of Federal Parliament and Provincial Assemblies to be held on November 26 is scheduled to take place on Sunday.

The filing of nominations will take place in 37 constituencies for the members of the House of Representatives and in 74 constituencies for the members of the Provincial Assemblies in the first phase, according to Election Commission Spokesperson Nawaraj Dhakal.

The first phase of the election is being held in Solukhumbu, Sankhuwasabha, Bhojpur, Okhaldhunga, Taplejung, Panchthar, Khotang, Nuwakot, Rasuwa, Dhading, Ramechhap, Mustang, Myagdi, Baglung, Manang, Lamjung, Gorkha, East Rukum, Rolpa, Sindhupalchok, Dolakha,  West Rukum, Jajarkot, Humla, Mugu, Jumla, Kalikot, Dolpa, Darchula, Bjhang, Baitadi and Bajura districts.

Political parties are filing nominations of their candidates at the concerned district elections offices today. The filing of nomination will take place from 10 am to 5 pm.

Those who is filing for nomination has to get his/her nomination paper registered at the office of the Chief Returning Officer and the Returning Officer opened in the district headquarters.

A person whose name figures in the closed list under the proportional representation system cannot become a candidate in the first-past-the-post (FPTP) election system, and that person would not be nominated.

As per the legal provision, a person filing nomination papers under the FPTP category of the House of Representatives should produce papers with the signatures of two persons indicating that those proposing and seconding the candidacy have their names in the voters list for the ward member of the Rural Municipality or Municipality of the same election constituency.

There are 4,465 polling booths and 2,946 voting centres in the first phase elections where three million 228 thousand and 879 voters are using their franchise in the first phase of elections to Federal Parliament and Provincial Assemblies.

Continue Reading


Drinking water shortage hits life at Yasok in Panchthar





PACHTHAR — A shortage of drinking water at Yasok Bazar, the center of Kummayak Rural Municipality, has thrown the normal life of the locals out of gear.

The problem arose after the local market management committee removed water pipes installed in the bazaar area. Per household here was getting 50 liters of drinking water once in two days before this.

Water scarcity here is not a new occurrence at Yasok which normally remains dry, but the complete disruption in the supply of taps water has paralysed the life, according to local hotelier Keshab Thapa.

There is no natural or artificial water source nearby the area and locals are forced to dependent on the supply by the local government through tractors in a very limited quantity.

The rural municipality has started fetching water from the local Chhorunga stream and distributing it to the locals. Tractors are used to transport stream water to the area.

Earlier, the 650 households at Yasok were using drinking water supplied by the Yasok Deurali Drinking Water Project. Regular supply (once in two days) was too less to meet demand. There is a demand for some 250,000 liters of water at Yasok per day.

According to Yasok Market Management Consumers Committee secretary Mahendra Bahadur Khadka, water pipes were removed (without any alternative arrangements) in course of market management efforts and it will take some more days to restore them and water scarcity is to go for more few days

Continue Reading