Connect with us

Nominations filed for Congress PP working committee

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The nomination filing for the Nepali Congress Legislature-Parliament, Parliamentary Party working committee election has completed on Thursday.

As many as 42 lawmakers have filed their nominations for 22 positions of Parliamentary Party membership.

The PP would elect the members on Friday.

According to the NC parliamentary party statute, election is taking place to seven posts on the parliamentary party working committee at the rate of one representative each from the seven federal provinces and to 15 posts under different reservation quota in line with the proportional representation principle.

One member from each of seven provinces would be elected while the party has reservations for two Madhesi women, one Madhesi man, one Dalit woman, one Dalit man, two Janajati women, two Janajati men, two Khas-Arya women, one Khas-Arya man, one member from the backward region, one Tharu and one Muslim.

Tara Man Gurung and Deepak Khadka have filed candidacy from Province 1, Teju Lal Chaudhary and Prem Kishor Prasad Saha Teli from Province 2, Dhyan Govinda Ranjit and Rameshwar Prasad Dhungel from Province 3, Kamal Prasad Pangeni and Ram Chandra Pokharel from Province 4, Bikram Khanal and Sanjaya Kumar Gautam from Province 5, Tapta Bahadur Bista and Rita Shahi from Province 6, and Dirgha Raj Bhat and Baharat Bahadur Khadka from Province 7.

Likewise, Aangtawa Sherpa, Tirtha Bahadur Lama, Jhul Bahadur Ale and Kanchan Chandra Bade have filed nomination for the two posts towards the indigenous nationalities male category under inclusive quota.

Usha Gurung, Rajya Laxmi Shrestha  and Gyani Kumari Chhantyal and Pushpalata Lama have filed candidacy for the two posts towards the indigenous nationalities female category under the inclusive quota.

Buddhiram Bhandari and Rajendra Kumar KC have filed candidacy for a single post towards the Khas Arya male category while Madhu Shahi Thakuri, Gita Wagle, Chandra Devi Joshi and Sarada Poudel filed candidacy for two posts towards the Khas Arya female category.

Meanwhile, Rajeev Bikram Shah was unanimously elected as he was the only contender to run for the one member reserved for lawmakers from the backward region.

Earlier, it has elected the party President Sher Bahadur Deuba the parliamentary party leader.

Continue Reading

Main News

Nirmala Panta rape, murder case : Locals protest after wrong suspect paraded

Gorkha Post



BHIMDUTTANAGAR — Locals who were protesting against the rape and murder of Nirmala Panta of Kanchanpur’s Bhimdatta Municipality, have enforced shutdown in Bhimduttanagar Bazaar on Tuesday, protesting police’s failure to reveal facts behind the murder of 13-year-old girl and parading wrong suspect on Monday.

The District Police Office, organising a press conference on Monday,had made public Dilip Singh Bista (41), of Baghphanta, Bhimdatta Municipality-19 as Nirmala’s murderer.

Locals have shut down the market area stating that police were not being able to make public the true murderer(s) as they are not convinced by the findings of police citing that Bista was mentally unsound, according to the District Police Office.

Transportation has also been halted.

Bista, a resident of Khanna Chauraha area in Bhimdutta Municipality-19, was apprehended near the scene of crime on Sunday, according to police.

Police making public the wrong suspect has infuriated the locals and fueled the protest.

The agitators including various civil society organisations and human rights defenders have been picketing the District Administration Office and staging rally on the street mounting pressure on the police to reveal the facts behind the heinous crime.

Meanwhile, it had been learnt that police have fired rounds of teargas shells to contain the agitated mob.

Nirmala was found murdered in a sugarcane field on July 27, a day after she had gone to her friend’s home to get a notebook.

Continue Reading