Connect with us

Main News

No vehicular movements on Sunday

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The Election Commission has imposed ban on using public and private vehicles in 32 districts on Sunday where first phase of House of Representatives and Provincial Assembly election is taking place.

The prohibition will come into effect from Saturday midnight to Sunday 5:00 pm in all 32 districts, according to Spokesperson Nawaraj Dhakal of EC.

“No Public and private vehicles will be allowed to ply on the road during the elections and even after the voting is over without special permission”, Dhakal said.

Ambulances, emergency services, vehicles used by security agencies, national observers, diplomatic officials, press and the commissions are allowed after getting approval from the concerned authorities, the EC has clarified.

ALSO READ :  Around 1,000 detained for anti-election activities

“Banning other [public and private] vehicles are necessary to ensure that people who want to manipulate votes and voters intending to cast bogus votes cannot travel easily,” Dhakal said.

The candidates and political party’s leaders also need the special permission from the authorized department for the use of vehicles on the polling day, the election body has said.

Light vehicles and motorcycles, however, will be allowed with the pass to manage mobility of old age and disabled.

The first phase of House of Representatives and Provincial Assembly election is being held in total 32 districts of Provinces 1,2,4,5,6 and 7. There 7 districts of Province 1, 6 districts in Province 2, 6 districts in Province 4, 2 districts in Province 5, 6 districts in Province 6 and 4 districts in Province 7.

Continue Reading

Main News

PM Oli expands cabinet, 15 new ministers inducted

Gorkha Post



15 new ministers inducted. RSS photo

KATHMANDU — Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has has expanded the Cabinet inducting 15 new ministers from his party CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Centre), increasing the size of his Cabinet to 22 on Friday.With this, the cabinet led by PM Oli has been extended to 21 members.

Six lawmakers from CPN-UML and five from CPN Maoist Centre lawmakers have been inducted as Ministers to the Cabinet. Likewise, three lawmakers are included as Minister of State.

The newly appointed ministers and state ministers were administered the oath of office at President’s office in Sheetal Niwas, by President Bidya Devi Bhandari at Sheetal Niwas amid an official function.

ALSO READ :  65 percent voter turnout in first phase elections

The newly ministers are as follows :


Gokarna Bista – Minister for Labour and Employment
Pradeep Kumar Gyawali – Minister for Foreign Affairs
Rabindra Adhikari – Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation
Jagat Bishwakarma – Minister for Youth and Sports
Sher Bahadur Tamang – Minister for Law
Raghubir Mahaseth – Minister for Physical Infrastructure Planning and Development
Gokul Baskota – State Minister for Information and Communication
Padma Kumari Aryal -State Minister for Health and Polulation

CPN Maoist Centre

Barsha Man Pun -Minister for Energy and Water Resources
Giriraj Mani Pokharel – Minister for Education
Shakti Basnet – Minister of Forestry
Chakrapani Khanal – Minister for Agriculture and Cooperatives
Bina Magar – Minister for Drinking Water
Ram Kumari Chaudhary – State Minister for Agriculture and Cooperatives

PM Oli, earlier in the second expansion of his Cabinet,   had appointed CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Ram Bahadur Thapa as Minister for Home Affairs, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Matrika Yadav as Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies, former governor Yabaraj Khatiwada as Minister for Finance, and CPN-UML’s Ishwor Pokharel as Defence Minister.

Continue Reading