Connect with us

Main News

Nepal Storms wins APL T20 Cricket Tournament

Storm scored a total of 108 runs losing seven wickets in the allotted 10 overs due to rain

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — Nepal Storm has won the trophy of the Asian Club Premier League (ACPL) T20 Cricket Tournament defeating Sri Lankan Lions by 20 runs on Tuesday.

With the trophy, Storm has also bagged a cash prize of Rs 4 million. Likewise, the runner-up Lions received rewarded with Rs 1.6 million.

Choosing to bat first after winning the toss, Storm scored a total of 108 runs losing seven wickets in the allotted 10 overs due to rain. In reply, Lions was bowled out for 81-7 in 10 overs.

Storm’s Pawan Chandel stroked highest 42 runs facing 19 balls and Jitendar Sharma made 23 runs off 10 balls for the winning side. Likewise, Bhupendra Thapa added 14 runs off 14 balls for Storm while Utsav Chandra, Harshana and Lovi Brar pocketed one wicket each for Lions.

Harshana struck 26 runs off 20 balls while unbeaten Sanjay Khichad made 23 runs facing 16 balls. Likewise, Akash Goutal scored 12 runs off seven balls while none other batsmen touched double digit.

ALSO READ :  One killed as gun-wielding gang opens fire at police in Rautahat

Shubhanshu Sahu was dismissed for four runs while Utsav Chandra, Lovi Brar and Sandeep were sent to the pavilion for one run respectively.

Malwinder, Gaurav Barabade and Ashish Bisht claimed two wickets for Storm.

The tournament was organized by Indian sports management company Ultimate Sports Management (USM) in association with National Sports Council (NSC).

Six franchise teams from Nepal, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) have participated in the competition.

Continue Reading

Main News

RJPN splits in its anniversary, disgruntled leaders form new party

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — A dissatisfied leaders of Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal (RJPN) including Vice Chairman Ashok Kumar Yadav announced on Friday that they have quit the party to form a new party under his leadership.

Organising a press conference at the Reporters’ Club in the Capital on Friday, Yadav and 32 other members left the party and announced a new party named Rastriya Janta Party (Loktantrik). According to which Ashok Kumar Yadav is appointed as a coordinator, Ritesh Kumar Singh, deputy coordinator and Jeevan Shah as general secretary.

Subash Chandari Biraji and Jeevan Sah have been appointed as General Secretaries in the 11-member ad hoc committee while Sadhana Yadav and Lakki Sharma as Secretaries, Madhu Maya Yadav as Treasurer and Dipendra Yadav as spokesperson.

Likewise, Dharma Raj Gupta, Bipana Acharya and Sambhu Pandit are the members of central ad hoc committee.

ALSO READ :  PM Dahal hopeful of UDMF participation in local level polls

Coordinator Yadav accused the party leadership of remaining indifferent in piling pressure on the government to amend the constitution.

Saying that Madhes is still lagging behind in terms of development, Yadav said the Rastriya Janata Party (Democratic) will focus its activities on development.

LAst year on the same day on April 20, 2017,six Madhes-based parties — Mahantha Thakur-led Tarai Madhes Loktantrik Party, Rajendra Mahato-led Sadbhawana Party, Mahendra Yadav-led Tarai Madhes Sadbhawana Party, Sharat Singh Bhandari-led Rastriya Madhes Samajbadi Party and Rajkishor Yadav-led Madhesi Janadhikar Forum- Ganatantrik and Anil Jha-led Nepal Sadbhawana Party– had announced their unification to form Rastirya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN).

Continue Reading
Advertisement Cheap Air fare and package tours!