Connect with us

Left alliance leads in two-third constituencies; UML makes clean sweep in Mustang, Maoist Centre in Rukum

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — With the votes being counted in 32 districts where first phase of parliamentary and provincial elections were held on November 26, left alliance of CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre is leading in two-third constituencies.

Out of the 37 seats in House of Representatives of first phase elections, left alliance is leading in 29 constituencies counted so far while Nepali Congress in only four constituencies and Naya Shakti Nepal party is taking lead in one constituency.

Out of 32 districts where first phase of election took place, Nepali Congress is taking lead only in four districts–Rasuwa, Bajura, Humla and Sankhuwasaba.

CPN-UML has made a clean sweep winning all seats in the election to the House of Representatives and Provincial Assembly in Mustang.

Prem Prasad Tulachan has secured his position to the House of Representatives with 3,544 votes,according to the Chief Election Officer (CEO).

His rival candidate Romi Gauchan from Nepali Congress garnered 3,281 votes.

Likewise, in Province ‘A’ UML candidates Indradhara Bista secured 1,167 votes whereas rival Tshering Dhawa Gurung garnered 657 votes.

In Province ‘B’, Mahendra Thakali from UML secured 2,584 votes and rival candidate Tshering Gurung garnered 2,259 votes.

Similarly, Maoist Centre made a clean sweep in Rukum East winning all three seats including two provincial assembly seats.

Maoist Centre candidate Kamala Roka has been elected as the Federal Parliament member from Rukum east.

In Gorkha-2, there is tight competition between left alliance candidate Narayan Kaji Shrestha and Naya Shakti Nepal candidate Baburam Bhattarai. Bhattarai is leading and has secured 6534 so far and Shrestha 5399.

Likewise, in Sindhupalchowk-1, left candidate Agni Sapkota leading with wide margin over Nepali Congress candidate Mohan Basnet. Sapkota has secured 11195 votes and Basnet following him with 6982 votes.

In Sindhupalchowk-2 too there is a tight competition between left candidate Sher Bahadur Tamang and Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Democratic) candidate Pashupati Shumsher Rana. Tamang has secured 9200 and Rana 8009 so far.

Left alliance is also leading in both constituencies of Nuwakot.

Continue Reading


DPM Pokharel gets responsibility of Officiating PM





KATHMANDU — Ahead of his visit to the People’s Republic of China, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has given the responsibility of the Officiating PM to Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Defence Ishwar Pokharel.

PM Oli, who is also the chairman of Nepal Communist Party (CPN), is leaving here for China today.

Similarly, Oli has appointed party’s senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal as the officiating chairman of CPN, according to CPN central committee member Bishnu Rijal. Currently, another chairman of CPN Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ is out of the country.

Likewise, deputy parliamentary party leader of CPN Subas Chandra Nembang has got the responsibility of officiating parliamentary party leader in the absence of parliamentary party leader and PM Oli.

Continue Reading