Connect with us

Indian visitors top tourists’ number in Mustang

Gorkha Post



MUSTANG — The number of Indian nationals visiting Mustang istrict has gradually increased, according to a record.

According to the record maintained by Annapurna Conservation Area Project (ACAP), Indian tourists made the highest number among the foreign tourists visiting the district.

The arrival of Indian tourists is on the rise as Hindu shrines including Muktinath, Kagbeni and Damodarkunda are in Mustang, the ACAP said.

In 2015, a total of 8,459 Indian tourists visited Mustang while the number was 18,000 plus in the previous year. However, the locals said that the Indian tourists’ stay in the district is shorter compared to other countries’ visitors.

But, the number of Indians has gone down after the ‘Gorkha Earthquake’ and India’s unofficial blockade on Nepal.

According to ACAP, 14,000 tourists have visited the district from the third countries, mostly from Australia, France, Germany, Sweden and others.


Continue Reading


Civil service employees disagree ordinance





RUPANDEHI- The Nepal Civil Service Employees Union (Association) Province-5 has expressed discontent on the employees’ adjustment ordinance brought out by the government.

Noting that the employees’ adjustment ordinance was introduced against the common understanding of the employees, the committee on Monday submitted a 12-point memorandum to the federal government through Province-5 Chief Minister and Office of Council of Ministers.

It may be noted that a 22-point common concept was submitted to the government through Chief Secretary of the federal government after holding discussions among national level trade unions of civil service. The discussion was coordinated by the authentic trade union of civil service employees.

The committee has expressed disagreement on the issuance of employees adjustment ordinance-2018 against the share concerns against the shared concept of the employees.

The Nepal Civil Service Employees Union (Association) has been insisting on the government to adjust employees as per the Adjustment Act-2074 and immediately enforce the voluntary retirement plan as per the Clause 13 of the Act.

A team headed by Association Province-5 Chairperson Madan Gautam had submitted the memorandum to Secretary of Chief Minister and Council of Minister, Basanta Adhikari.

Continue Reading