Connect with us

House endorses first amendments of constitution

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The Legislature-Parliament Saturday made the first amendments of the Constitution of Nepal four months after its promulgation.

The amendments ensured the proportional inclusion for backward communities in state bodies and increasing the number of constituencies in the Tarai region.

The three Articles amended Saturday were: Article 42 (1) , 84 and Article 286 (5) which took three-and-half months to pass the bill after it was registered by the recent Nepali Congress-drove government on October 7.

A meeting of the House endorsed the Bill on First Amendment of the Constitution of Nepal with two-third majority amid disagreement from the agitating Madhes-based parties.

Of the 468 lawmakers who participated in the voting on Saturday, 461 voted in favour of the Constitution Amendment Bill and seven lawmakers—from Nepal Majdoor Kisan Party and Rastriya Janamorcha—voted against.

The bill was amended through amendment proposals registered by mainly two groups of lawmakers of Nepali Congress led by Minendra Rijal and Farmullah Mansur.

From among the 24 amendment proposals registered on the bill, 21 were withdrawn after the parties agreed to pass an integrated proposal.

Three proposals registered by Prem Suwal of NWPP, Durga Paudel of Rastriya Janamorcha Party and Jay Dev Joshi of CPN-United were rejected by majority vote.

The Madhes-based parties, who since the country adopted the new charter have been protesting in the Tarai plains, did not participate in the voting.

On Article 42, Saturday’s amendment has decreased the number of ethnic clusters to 15 from 17. The agitating parties had also demanded that the “Khas Arya” group be delisted from the cluster, but the major parties have decided to rephrase it to call it “marginalised Khas Arya”.

On Article 286, the amendment says: while delimiting the constituencies, the Constituency Delineation Commission will, in line with Article 84 (1), delimit constituencies, and each district within every province will have at least one constituency.

Continue Reading


DPM Pokharel gets responsibility of Officiating PM





KATHMANDU — Ahead of his visit to the People’s Republic of China, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has given the responsibility of the Officiating PM to Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Defence Ishwar Pokharel.

PM Oli, who is also the chairman of Nepal Communist Party (CPN), is leaving here for China today.

Similarly, Oli has appointed party’s senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal as the officiating chairman of CPN, according to CPN central committee member Bishnu Rijal. Currently, another chairman of CPN Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ is out of the country.

Likewise, deputy parliamentary party leader of CPN Subas Chandra Nembang has got the responsibility of officiating parliamentary party leader in the absence of parliamentary party leader and PM Oli.

Continue Reading