Connect with us

HLPCC urges govt to hold talks with disgruntled parties

Gorkha Post




The first meeting of newly formed High Level Political Coordination Committee (HLPCC) has urged the government to take concrete steps for talks with agitating Madhes-based political parties.

The meeting held in the office of Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers at Singha Durbar today took a decision to this effect, informed UCPN (Maoist) chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, who coordinates the committee.

Earlier, a meeting of various political parties, who supported the CPN-UML in the recent Prime Ministerial elections, held in the Capital today had formed the 11-member committee.

Dahal said that a talks team will be formed at the earliest, in coordination with the opposition party Nepali Congress, to sort out the problems facing the country.

The meeting also urged agitating parties to call off their protest programs on the Nepal-India border so as to ease the restrictions on the border.

Dahal said that the committee would help the new government to ease the supplies on the border and implement the new constitution. And for that terms of reference will also be made, he said.

Meanwhile, the second meeting of the Cabinet began today.


Continue Reading


Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih wins presidency

Gorkha Post



MALE — Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has beaten incumbent Abdulla Yameen according to provisional results, the country’s Elections Commission says.

Results released by the Elections Commission showed Mr Solih securing 133,808 votes (58.3 percent) compared to the 95,526 for incumbent Abdulla Yameen. The voter turnout was over 88 per cent out of the 262,000-strong electorate.

The Maldives government has acknowledged the opposition’s victory after the vote on Sunday, a surprise defeat for President Abdulla Yameen who was widely expected to win.

There were no other candidates.

Mr Solih had the backing of a united opposition trying to oust Mr Yameen, but struggled for visibility with the electorate, with local media fearful of falling afoul of heavy-handed decrees and reporting restrictions.

“I call on Yameen to respect the will of the people and bring about a peaceful, smooth transfer of power,” Solih said on television, shortly after interim results from the country’s election commission.

“We have won this election with a comfortable majority,” Solih said.

Continue Reading