Connect with us

Govt reaffirms to formulate Election law and Constituency Determination Commission soon




KATHMANDU — The government has reaffirmed to formulate the laws relating to the provincial and federal elections and formation of the Commission on Constituency Determination soon.

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba , talking to a team of Election Commission of Nepal led by Chief Election Commissioner  Ayodhee Prasad Yadav at the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers on Sunday, has instructed the authorities concerned to get ready for holding both elections assuring of the formulation of electoral laws and formation of the Commission at the earliest.

Minister for Home Affairs Janardan Sharma, who was also present in the meeting, told that the meeting also dwelt on collection of voters’ list and whether the voters’ list could be registered at the local levels.

Chief Election Commissioner Yadav shared that they demanded formation of the Commission and formulation of the election act and submission of reports relating these two pertinent issues to which PM Deuba, according to Yadav, assured of endorsing the election law through fast-track and formation of the Commission.

The Commission, meanwhile, has urged one and all eligible voters to utilise the opportunity to register their names in the voters’ lists in their respective districts within July 30.

The Commission has put in place the provision where the voters  could register their names in the voters’ list in their districts by July 30 for the provincial and federal elections due by January 21, 2018.

Continue Reading


7 injured in Dhading truck-microbus collision

Gorkha Post



DHADING — Seven passengers were injured after a microbus and a truck collided head-on at Baireni in Galchhi rural municipality-6, Dhading on Thursday morning.

The cement loaded truck(Na 5 Kha 7386) en route to Kathmandu from Gajuri collided with the microbus(Ga 1 Kha 2966) coming from Pokhara from Kathmandu.

Driver of microbus along with other six have sustained injuries. Other injured are Ramendra Bishwokarma and Purna Kumari Gurung of Syangja, Aasha Gurung, Aarapi Gurung and Bibek Poudel of Kathmandu, Anju Chaudhary of Kaski and Suman Gurung of Lamjung, according to Area Police Office, Gajuri.

Continue Reading