Connect with us

Main News

Govt announces 5-day educational holiday in Province 2




KATHMANDU — The government has announced a holiday for five days in educational institutions and one day public holiday in Province 2 in view of the third phase of local elections slated for September 18.

The holiday in schools will be effective from September 15 to 19, while the Election Day will be a public holiday, according to government spokesperson Mohan Bahadur Basnet.

The meeting of the Council of Ministers took this decision, Basnet said.

Similarly, the meeting also decided to accept a grant of Rs 1.5 billion to be provided by World Bank from the joint fund of the donors for the post-quake reconstruction projects.

The cabinet also decided to table the bills related to the election of the President and the Vice-President in the parliament.

ALSO READ :  Local elections soon, says Minister Pandey

Similarly, the meeting took a decision of issuing Nepali Passports to the sons and daughters of Nepali citizens living abroad (and who have not yet acquired Nepali citizenship) for a maximum of four years.

The meeting also appointed Narendra Raj Basnet as the chair of High Powered Bagmati Civilization Integrated Development Committee and Gyan Chandra Acharya as the financial advisor of the Prime Minister.

The Cabinet meeting also approved PM’s delegation team for UN’s 72nd General Assembly.

Continue Reading

Main News

Newly appointed guvs take oath of office and secrecy

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — President Bidya Devi Bhandari has administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly appointed governors of all seven provinces on Friday amid a special function at the official residence of the President, Shital Niwas.

All seven governors appointed as the ceremonial state heads by the incumbent government on Wednesday were sworn-in at 4:00 pm Friday in Sheetal Niwas, according to Keshav Ghimire, joint secretary at the Office of the President.

Thegovernment had appointed Prof Govinda Subba as governor of Province 1, Ratneshwar Lal Kayastha as governor of Province 2, Anuradha Koirala for 3, Baburam Kunwar for 4, Umakanta Jha for 5, Durga Khanal for 6 and Mohan Raj Malla for Province 7.

ALSO READ :  Cannabis decimated in Siraha

Immediately after their sworn in by the president, the election body on Friday itself handed over the name lists of those elected to the provincial assemblies under the proportional representation (PR) category in the polls held November 26 and December 7.

As per the legal provisions, the election body needs to submit the name lists of members elected to the provincial assemblies to the governors within five days after announcing the poll results.

Before that, the EC had distributed the certificates to the winning candidates, paving the way for the formation of provincial assemblies and for conducting the upper house elections slated for February 7.

Continue Reading
Advertisement Cheap Air fare and package tours!



Posted 3 weeks ago

We have latest collections of designer sarees. Contact for wholesale or retails prices. We also deliver all types of fashion collections for men and women.

 Fashion & Clothings /  Kathmandu / 46 views

NPR 2,999.00

Posted 3 weeks ago

Remember us for all travel related services : Hotel booking ( Globally) Vehicle reservation Flight Ticket( Domestic/International) Tour packages Train ticket reservation Hiking and Trekking

 Travel & Tours /  Kathmandu / 47 views

NPR 2,000.00