Connect with us

Girl arrested on charge of murdering cousin commits suicide




LAHAN —  A 16-year-old girl, who was arrested here on the charge of her involvement in the recent killing of her cousin, has committed suicide while in the police detention on Sunday evening.

Priyanka Yadav of Bandipur of Kajarnaha Municipality-2, Siraha was found dead from hanging by her shawl from the ceiling of toilet at the Area Police Office, Bishnupur in the district this evening, District Police Office Siraha’s Chief Superintendent of Police Shekhar Koirala confirmed.

The girl who entered the toilet citing to be fresh did not turn back for long, prompting the police to break the door. Her parents were already informed about the incident and the Office is sending the body to the Siraha District Hospital for a post-mortem.

Priyanka was arrested along with Sanjay Saha, 14, of the same locality on the charge of hacking her cousin Bhawesh Uadav to death.

Bhawesh reportedly caught the two in a compromising condition and the two murdered him for being failed to convince him not to disclose what he saw between them in secret to their families. His body was retrieved from a nursery nearby his house on October 22 after two days of his missing.

The girl was taken to Bishnupur from the Area Police Office, Mirchaiya for lack of space to keep women detainees.

Continue Reading


Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih wins presidency

Gorkha Post



MALE — Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has beaten incumbent Abdulla Yameen according to provisional results, the country’s Elections Commission says.

Results released by the Elections Commission showed Mr Solih securing 133,808 votes (58.3 percent) compared to the 95,526 for incumbent Abdulla Yameen. The voter turnout was over 88 per cent out of the 262,000-strong electorate.

The Maldives government has acknowledged the opposition’s victory after the vote on Sunday, a surprise defeat for President Abdulla Yameen who was widely expected to win.

There were no other candidates.

Mr Solih had the backing of a united opposition trying to oust Mr Yameen, but struggled for visibility with the electorate, with local media fearful of falling afoul of heavy-handed decrees and reporting restrictions.

“I call on Yameen to respect the will of the people and bring about a peaceful, smooth transfer of power,” Solih said on television, shortly after interim results from the country’s election commission.

“We have won this election with a comfortable majority,” Solih said.

Continue Reading