Connect with us

First phase elections : Voting underway peacefully inn 32 districts

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The voting of the first round of the federal parliament and provincial assembly elections has begun at 7:00am on Sunday in 32 mountain and Hill districts on Sunday.

According to the Election Commission, voters with their identity cards are standing in the queues at their respective polling stations since early morning to cast their ballots.

The voting started at the scheduled time,according to Election Commission Spokesperson Nawaraj Dhakal and will continue until 5 pm today.

The election in the remaining districts has been slated for December 7.

Security has been tightened after a minor clash among the voters was reported in Jamune polling centre in Dolakha, police said. Meanwhile some blasts were also reported in wertens Rukum district.

The 32 districts that go to polls today include Ramechhap, Mustang, Myagdi, Baglung, Manang, Lamjung, Gorkha, Solukhumbu, Sankhuwasabha, Bhojpur, Okhaldhunga, Taplejung, Panchthar, Khotang, Nuwakot, Rukum East, Rukum West, Rolpa, Jajarkot, Humla, Rasuwa, Dhading, Sindhupalchowk, Dolakha, Mugu, Jumla, Kalikot, Bajhang, Bajura, Baitadi, Dolpa and Darchula.

A total of 702 candidates are in the fray in the first phase elections. There are the total 3191945 voters and a total of 2,919 polling centers and 4,465 polling stations.

Continue Reading


Int’l conference on entrepreneurship to be held in Dhangadhi





KAILALI— An international conference on entrepreneurship is being held in Dhangadhi on November 22, 23 and 24 for the promotion of entrepreneurship.

The conference is being organized under the aegis of the Dhangadi Sub-metropolitan City and King’s College, Kathmandu, the Sub-metropolis mayor Nripa Bahadur Wad shared in a news conference here today.

Successful entrepreneurs from various countries and local industrialists will give their presentations in the three-day meet.

Chief of the Research Department at the King’s College Kathmandu, Chittaranjan Pandeya, said such a big and important conference is taking place for the first time outside the Kathmandu.

It is stated that the conference cost is approximately Rs 2.5 million.

Some 200 people will attend the conference which will also include stalls providing information on a range of issues regarding entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial skills.

Continue Reading