Connect with us

First phase elections concluded peacefully : Home Ministry




KATHMANDU — The Ministry of Home Affairs has concluded that the first phase of the elections to the House of Representatives and State Assemblies concluded peacefully on Sunday.

In a press statement released after the polls, the Ministry said the elections were held in 32 districts in a very exciting and peaceful atmosphere with the people’s enthusiastic participation.

The voter turnout in the phase I elections was around 65 per cent and safe transport of ballot boxes to the district headquarters from the polling stations is going on, Ministry spokesperson Narayan Prasad Sharma Duwadi said in the statement.

The elections concluding in peaceful, impartial and fear-free atmosphere with people’s enthusiastic participation despite geographical remoteness, (adverse) weather condition and a few obstructions from some anti-election forces was itself a great achievement in course of institutionalising federalism, the Ministry added.

The Nepalese Army, Nepal Police, Armed Police Force and security personnel from the National Investigation Department were mobilised for the purpose of election security .

The Ministry thanking all those contributing to holding the elections hoped for the same kind of cooperation and support and people’s participation in the second phase of elections scheduled to be held in 45 districts on coming December 7.

Continue Reading


Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih wins presidency

Gorkha Post



MALE — Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has beaten incumbent Abdulla Yameen according to provisional results, the country’s Elections Commission says.

Results released by the Elections Commission showed Mr Solih securing 133,808 votes (58.3 percent) compared to the 95,526 for incumbent Abdulla Yameen. The voter turnout was over 88 per cent out of the 262,000-strong electorate.

The Maldives government has acknowledged the opposition’s victory after the vote on Sunday, a surprise defeat for President Abdulla Yameen who was widely expected to win.

There were no other candidates.

Mr Solih had the backing of a united opposition trying to oust Mr Yameen, but struggled for visibility with the electorate, with local media fearful of falling afoul of heavy-handed decrees and reporting restrictions.

“I call on Yameen to respect the will of the people and bring about a peaceful, smooth transfer of power,” Solih said on television, shortly after interim results from the country’s election commission.

“We have won this election with a comfortable majority,” Solih said.

Continue Reading