Connect with us

EU deploys Election Observation Mission to Nepal

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The European Union has deployed an Election Observation Mission to Nepal, on invitation of Government of Nepal, to observe the upcoming House of Representatives and Provincial Assemblies elections scheduled for November 36 and December 7.

Issuing a press statement, EU said it had deployed EOM to Nepal in 2008 and 2013, reflecting it’s long-term commitment to supporting credible, transparent and inclusive elections in the nation.

According to a statement, vice president of the European Commission Federica Mogherini, who is also the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, has appointed European Parliament’s member Željana Zovko as the chief observer.

The EOM’s core team of 10 EU election analysts had arrived in Nepal on October 25 and will stay in the country until the completion of the electoral process.

The EU said in a statement that the core team, which will be joined by 38 long-term observers, will also prepare a comprehensive final report.

“Earlier this year, we witnessed the first local elections in Nepal in 20 years. The upcoming elections for the House of Representatives and provincial assemblies will be another important moment for the country and crucial for completing the constitutional transition process. Through our EOM, under the leadership of Chief Observer Ms Zelijana Zovko, the EU will provide an important contribution to this electoral process,” Mogherini said.

The diplomatic mission also said that it’s looking forward to cooperating with other international and domestic observation missions during the elections.

“Twenty short-term observers will be deployed on November 20 for the first phase of the elections scheduled for November 26, while an additional 24 short-term observers will be deployed on December 1 for the second phase of the elections on December 7,” said the statement.

Continue Reading


Three arrested with tiger hides





KATHMANDU- The Central Investigation Bureau (CIB) on Tuesday arrested three persons in possession of tiger hides.

The CIB said that Man Bahadur Tamang of Shailung Rural Municipality in Dolakha; Lokmaya Gurung of Barpak Sulikot Rural Municipality in Gorkha district and Amar Singh of Tilathi Koiladi Rural Municipality in Saptari district were arrested from Budhanilkantha in the capital city acting on a tip off about their involvement in smuggling of animals’ hides and skeleton.

All three have been sent to the Division Forests Office, Kathmandu for further actions. According to the Superintendent of Police Sudip Giri, the alleged would be booked as per the National Parks and Wildlife Conservation Act, 1973 and CITES Convention, 1975.

Continue Reading