Connect with us

Election officer goes missing in Bajura




BAJURA — An Election Officer of Bangpani Polling Center of Malika Secondary School at Pandavgufa Rural Municipality in Bajura district has gone missing from Monday evening.

Election Officer Prem Raj Giri has gone out of contact from Porkhe area of the district, according to the District Police Office, Bajura.

Police Inspector Jagdish Bhatta said that Giri went out of contact while coming to the district headquarters after completing the elections to the House of Representatives and Provincial Assemblies that were held on Sunday.

Giri is an official of the Prime Minister Agriculture Modernization Zone Programme. Police said that a search for the missing Election Officer is underway.

The ballot boxes of Bangpani Polling Centre are kept outside the office of the Chief Election Officer in absence of Election Officer Giri, though the ballot boxes are carried to the Office of the Chief Election Officer in Martadi, the district headquarters of Bajura.

Continue Reading


Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih wins presidency

Gorkha Post



MALE — Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has beaten incumbent Abdulla Yameen according to provisional results, the country’s Elections Commission says.

Results released by the Elections Commission showed Mr Solih securing 133,808 votes (58.3 percent) compared to the 95,526 for incumbent Abdulla Yameen. The voter turnout was over 88 per cent out of the 262,000-strong electorate.

The Maldives government has acknowledged the opposition’s victory after the vote on Sunday, a surprise defeat for President Abdulla Yameen who was widely expected to win.

There were no other candidates.

Mr Solih had the backing of a united opposition trying to oust Mr Yameen, but struggled for visibility with the electorate, with local media fearful of falling afoul of heavy-handed decrees and reporting restrictions.

“I call on Yameen to respect the will of the people and bring about a peaceful, smooth transfer of power,” Solih said on television, shortly after interim results from the country’s election commission.

“We have won this election with a comfortable majority,” Solih said.

Continue Reading