Connect with us

EC submits National Assembly election results to president

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The Election Commission has submitted the results of the National Assembly elections to President Bidya Devi Bhandari on Sunday.

The election body, issuing a press statement Sunday, said that Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav handed NA poll results over to the President under Clause 59 of the ordinance on National Assembly elections.

Th EC also said that it would submit results of the House of Representative elections within the third week of February.

The Upper House elections held for 56 seats out of 59, elected 27 candidates from CPN (UML), 13 from Nepali Congress, 12 from CPN (Maoist Centre), two each from Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal and Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal.

Likewise, Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba on Saturday recommended three names — Chandani Joshi,Gopal Basnet and Krishna Paudel — to President’s Office to be picked for the Upper House.

The results of the National Assembly elections have now cleared the way for the EC to announce final results of the House of Representatives elections under the

Continue Reading


Finance Committee meeting deferred until 1 pm today





KATHMANDU— The meeting of the Finance Committee under the House of Representatives that was scheduled at 9 am today has been postponed until 1 pm.

The meeting was put off for lack of a quorum, said Chairperson of committee Krishna Prasad Dahal. Until 9:30 am, only nine members of the 25-member committee were present in the meeting.

Issues relating to capital expenditures and non-budgetary release of fund were scheduled for discussion in the meeting.

Continue Reading