Main NewsNation

EC sets up office of Returning Officer in 45 districts

KATHMANDU — The Election Commission has set up offices of the chief returning officer and returning officer in 45 districts on Thursday where the second phase of House of Representatives and State Assembly elections are taking place on December 7.

All the offices of the chief returning officer and the returning officer have come into operation from Thursday itself,according to the information provided by the Joint Election Operation Centre (JEOC) at the Election Commission.

Among the districts where the second phase elections are taking place include Ilam, Tehrathum, Dhankuta, Udayapur, Jhapa, Morang and Sunsari in Province 1; Saptari, Siraha, Dhanusha, Mahottari, Sarlahi, Bara, Parsa and Rautahat in Province 2; and Sindhuli, Makwanpur, Chitwan, Kavrepalanchok, Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur in Province 3.

The second phase of the federal and provincial parliament elections are being held in 128 and 256 electoral constituencies respectively.

ALSO READ :  DPM Gautam meets Qatari PM
Likewise, the second phase federal and provincial parliamentary elections are taking place in Tanahun, Kaski, Syangja, Parbat and Nawalparasi (east of Bardaghat Susta) districts in Province 4; Palpa, Arghakhanchi, Kapilbastu, Dang, Pyuthan, Gulmi, Rupandehi,  Banke, Bardiya and Nawalparasi (west of Bardaghat Susta) districts in Province 5; Salyan, Surkhet and Dailekh districts in Province 6; and Kailali, Kanchanpur, Dadeldhura, Achham and Doti districts in Province 7.

The number of voters for the second phase elections is 12 million 198 thousand 852. The nominations for the elections will take place on November 2, according to the Election Commission spokesman Nawaraj Dhakal.


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker