Connect with us

EC makes public PR results

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The Election Commission (EC) has made public the election results of federal parliament under the Proportional Representation (PR) category on Friday, 64 days after the polls were held.

Of the 110 seats under the PR category, CPN-UML has won 41 seats, Nepali Congress (NC) 40, CPN (Maoist Centre) 17, Rastriya Janata Party six and Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (SSFN) has won six seats.

With this, CPN-UML’s 121 lawmakers, NC’s 63, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s 53, Rastriya Janata Party (RJP)’s 17, Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum Nepal (SSFN)’s 16 will attend the 275-member federal parliament.

Apart from them, Rastriya Prajantra Party (RPP) 1, Naya Shakti 1, Rastriya Janamorcha 1, Nepal Workers and Peasants Party (NWPP) and Independent among five will also attend the federal parliament.

In the 59-member National Assembly, President Bidya Devi Bhandari will nominate three members on the recommendation of government. Of the 56 members elected from the election, UML’s 27 lawmakers, NC’s 13, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s 12, Rastriya Janata Party (RJP)’s 2 and SSFN’s 2 will represent in the National Assembly.

According to the law, five parties who have succeeded in securing three percent votes have only got the opportunity to represent in the Parliament under the PR category. The five parties will represent in the Parliament as the National party.

Continue Reading


Mid-Hill highway opens door of prosperity: Minister Adhikari





GALKOT- Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Rabindra Adhikari has said that the Mid-Hill highway had opened the door of prosperity.

He added that the highway was easing the transportation service of the hilly people.

Inaugurating the Badigad Festival and Nwagi Fair-2075 BS here in Baglung district on Saturday, Minister Adhikari stressed on preserving and promoting the domestic cultures to strengthen the nationality and create harmony among the people.

The festival organizer committee coordinator Tika Paija shared that the festival was organized to preserve domestic culture and promote local tourism.
The festival will run until November 25.

Continue Reading