Connect with us

EC furnishes written response to Supreme Court

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The Election Comission has furnished a written response to the Supreme Court on Monday stating that it has started to print separate ballot papers of first-past-the-post elections of House of Representatives and State Assemblies respectively.

Furnishing the response by Assistant Attorney General Ghan Shyam Ojha on behalf of the Office of the Attorney General on the case filed against defamation of the court, Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav said that works have already been started for printing separate ballot papers for the first-past-the-post electoral system.

The EC has written to the Janak Education Material Centre on Sunday itself for printing the ballot papers of Baitadi, Bajhang, Darchula, Bajura and Jajarkot districts by respecting the SC’s verdict, reads the response.

Earlier, the SC had issued an order in the name of EC hearing a writ petition filed by the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal leader Sarbendra Nath Shukla demanding separate ballot papers for the province and federal levels in the polls.

On October 24, leader Shukla had again reached the SC to file case against the Chief Election Commissioner and four other commissioners and the prime minister for defamation of the court.

Hearing the case, a single bench of Justice Dambar Bahadur Shahi sought written response from the EC within three days regarding the progress being made in the printing of separate ballot papers for House of Representative and State Assemblies election.

Continue Reading


Two died and eight injured in accident

Pratigya Waiju



KATHMANDU—Today morning, Two died and eight injured when the microbus (Ba 3 Kha 4042) and minibus (Lu 1 Kha 4194)   collided each other in Myagade Rural Municipality-4 of Tanahu district.

Police has identified the deceased as Chija Kumari Batas of 50 and Saraswati Kunawar of 35.

The injured passengers of Microbus are identified as microbus driver Tul Bahadur BK, Sabila Khan Namuk Miya, Chandra Bhandari, Bindu Maya Thapa, Kamala Sura and Satyakala Neupane.

The cause of the accident is not identified yet.

Continue Reading