Connect with us


DPL: CYC Attariya beat Kathmandu Goldens by 40 runs



DHANGADHI — CYC Attariya has defeated Kathmandu Goldens by 40 runs in the first match of the ongoing Dhangadi Premier League (DPL) on Monday  being played at SSP Cricket Ground in Dhangadi.

The Kathmandu Goldens had won the toss and elected to field first. The CYC Attariya had posted a total of 146 runs with the loss of six wickets.

The Goldens team was bowled out for 106 runs in 18.4 overs.

CYC Attariya bowler Avinash Bohara registered 4 wickets in his name and was named man of the match. Likewise, Binod Lama claimed three wickets and Shashi Keshari and Pradeep Airee took one wicket each for their team’s victory.

Earlier, CYC Attariya batsman Yogendra Singh Karki top scored with 57 runs coming off his bat in 41 deliveries. Gyanendra Kunwar remained unbeaten and scored 34 runs. Manjeet Shrestha, Santosh Bhatta and Rohit Kumar Poudel took one wicket each.

Continue Reading


Nepal defeats Thailand in opening match



KATHMANDU — Nepal defeated Thailand by 134 runs in the Group A opening match of the ACC U-16 Eastern Region Tournament at the Terdthai Cricket Ground in Bangkok on Monday.

Nepal won the toss and scored a total of 179 runs in the allotted 50 overs in the Group A match played at Terdthai Cricket Ground, Bangkok.

In reply, Thailand was bowled out for paltry 46 runs in 19.3 overs after Nepal’s Narayan Joshi claimed five wickets.

Joshi gave Nepal an early breakthrough when he bowled Thiraphat Konthong for a duck in second over and claimed two scalps in the fourth over dismissing skipper Kongkidakon Rueangrotchanchai and Phiriyapong Shanchuai in the first and fourth balls respectively.

ALSO READ :  FIFA bans ANFA president Thapa for 10 years

Similarly, Chiraphong Liangwichian was run out in the fifth over as Thailand were reduced to 4-4 before Joshi bowled Patiphan Satphanit (two) in the eighth over.

Joshi then Kittiphat Daorueang (3) caught by Ajay Kumar Loniya in the 10th over to complete his five-wicket haul as Thailand lost first six wickets with just 21 runs on the board.

Thailand were then reduced to 23-9 after Surya Tamang claimed two wickets and Nikhil Kumar Singh claimed one.

Nepal made a positive start to the innings with its opening duo Kushal Malla and Rajan Magar creating a 33-run partnership for the first wicket. Malla made 13-ball eight whereas Magar scored 17 runs facing 18 balls.

But, Nepal came under pressure after losing the third and fourth number batsmen Bishal Bikram KC (5) and Rit Gautam (16).

Trith Raj Das, who came to bat at fifth number, rescued the innings smashing 57-ball 39. He was supported by middle-order batsman Sunil Bhandari who made 23 runs in 33 deliveries. Das built a 36-run partnership with Bhandari for the fifth wicket.

Similarly, Pratis GC contributed 12 runs while Nikhil Kumar Singh made six runs. Kokiad Chatwong was pick of the Thai bowling as he bagged three wickets.  Kongkidakon Rueangrotchanchai and Chiraphong Liangwichian added two wickets each.

ALSO READ :  Lionel Messi retires from international football

Thiraphat Konthong and Sarawut Maliwan claimed one wicket each for Thailand.

Host Thailand’s batting owe continued with Kongkidakon Rueangrotchanchai becoming fourth batsman to be dismissed for a duck as he was run out after just three ball.

Kokiad Chatwong was the top scorer for Thai team with 11 runs. He was also the only batsman to touch double-digit figure for the host.

Surya Tamang claimed two wickets for Nepal while Nikhil Kumar Singh and Bishal Bikram KC added one wicket each.

Continue Reading
Advertisement Cheap Air fare and package tours!
Advertisement Miss Gorkha  2017