Connect with us

Main News

DIG Nawaraj Silwal resigns after SC verdict

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — DIG Navaraj Silwal has resigned from Nepal Police after the Supreme Court quashed his writ petition filed against IGP appointment on Tuesday.

Issuing a press statement Tuesday evening just few hours after the Supreme Court quashed the writ petition challenging the appointment of Prakash Aryal to the post of Inspector General of Police (IGP), Silwal announced his resignation from the post.

Silwal said he reached to this decision after the apex court annulled his writ and approved DIG Praksah Aryal promotion to the Inspector General of Nepal Police.

“It was a long battle for justice to professional right,” Silwal said in the statement.

An extended full bench of SC justices including Chief Justice Gopal Parajuli,Justices Om Prakash Mishra, Kedar Prasad Chalise, Sharda Prasad Ghimire, Mira Khadka, Prakashman Singh Raut and Purospottam Bhandari made the decision.

ALSO READ :  4 arrested on charge of murder

a day after the government elevated Aryal to the post of IGP, DIG Silwal had filed the writ petition at the court arguing that there “have been irregularities during the review of the files on work performance of four DIGs” who were contending for the IG post.

DIG Silwal had moved the court for the second time challenging the government decision to promote DIG Prakash Aryal to the top post of Nepal police.

He had claimed that the review panel deducted two points from his score sheet to promote Aryal to the post of IGP.

DIG Silwal had earlier knocked the apex court’s door on February 12 after the government decided to promote DIG Jaya Bahadur Chand as the new IG.

The Supreme Court on March 21 quashed the government decision to appoint Chand as the chief of Nepali Police and instructed the government to take into account seniority, merit and performance while promoting officials.

Continue Reading

Main News

Newly appointed guvs take oath of office and secrecy

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — President Bidya Devi Bhandari has administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly appointed governors of all seven provinces on Friday amid a special function at the official residence of the President, Shital Niwas.

All seven governors appointed as the ceremonial state heads by the incumbent government on Wednesday were sworn-in at 4:00 pm Friday in Sheetal Niwas, according to Keshav Ghimire, joint secretary at the Office of the President.

Thegovernment had appointed Prof Govinda Subba as governor of Province 1, Ratneshwar Lal Kayastha as governor of Province 2, Anuradha Koirala for 3, Baburam Kunwar for 4, Umakanta Jha for 5, Durga Khanal for 6 and Mohan Raj Malla for Province 7.

ALSO READ :  PM Oli reaches Gujrat

Immediately after their sworn in by the president, the election body on Friday itself handed over the name lists of those elected to the provincial assemblies under the proportional representation (PR) category in the polls held November 26 and December 7.

As per the legal provisions, the election body needs to submit the name lists of members elected to the provincial assemblies to the governors within five days after announcing the poll results.

Before that, the EC had distributed the certificates to the winning candidates, paving the way for the formation of provincial assemblies and for conducting the upper house elections slated for February 7.

Continue Reading
Advertisement Cheap Air fare and package tours!



Posted 4 weeks ago

We have latest collections of designer sarees. Contact for wholesale or retails prices. We also deliver all types of fashion collections for men and women.

 Fashion & Clothings /  Kathmandu / 47 views

NPR 2,999.00

Posted 4 weeks ago

Remember us for all travel related services : Hotel booking ( Globally) Vehicle reservation Flight Ticket( Domestic/International) Tour packages Train ticket reservation Hiking and Trekking

 Travel & Tours /  Kathmandu / 47 views

NPR 2,000.00