Connect with us

China says it will provide fuel to Nepal

Gorkha Post




The spokesperson of China’s Foreign Ministry said that it is ready to provide fuel and vital supply to needy Nepal.

“The Chinese side is ready to provide vital help at the request of the Nepali government as an inviting neighbor to diminish the lack of fuel supply,” Hua Chunying said at a regular press conference in Beijing yesterday.

Her announcement has come during a time when an official team from Nepal has traveled to Beijing to hold talks in regards to prospects of importing fuel from the northern neighbor.

An official team led by Ambassador of Nepal to China, Mahesh Maskey has already reached Beijing to hold dialog concerning the import of petroleum items from China.

Reacting to a query, she further said that the Chinese and Nepali sides are in close correspondence in such issues.

The Nepali delegation has begun dialogs with the concerned Chinese authorities on the alternatives and solutions to the present fuel crisis. The team has been mandated to discuss the means and mode of fuel import, including prices, with the Chinese side.

Nepal is right now reeling under intense lack of petroleum products attributable to the Madhes-based parties, which have increased their disturbance in the wake of the promulgation of the new constitution on September 20.

Continue Reading

Main News

Tenure of NA members determined though lucky draw

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — Tenure of members of the National Assembly has been determined through a lucky draw method on Monday.

As per the lucky draw conducted at the Federal Parliament in New Baneshwor today, the term of opposition party Nepali Congress lawmaker Surendra Pandey has fixed for two years, while the term of Nepal Communist Party lawmaker Dinanath Sharma has been fixed for four years.

Similarly, Nainkala Ojha, Shashikala Dahal, Udaya Sharma Poudel, Shanti Kumari Adhikari, Komal Oli and Taradevi Bhatta would serve as NA members for four years.

Likewise, the tenure of members — Bina Pokharel, Pramila Kumari, Dil Kumari Rawal, Deepa Gurung, Anita Devkota, Nanda Chhapai and Indu Kadariya — was determined for six years.

The term of Sarita Prasain, Mukta Kumari Yadav, Dhan Kumari Khatiwada, Binda Devi Ale, Mina Budha, Yutal Tamang and Kamala Kumari Oli has been determined for two years.

Of the 59 NA members, 56 were elected from seven provinces—eight from each province, with three others being nominated by the President on the recommendation by the government.

All the clusters have been divided into three categories of two years, four years and six years and the lawmakers should pick one of the three categories.

Continue Reading