Connect with us

Main News

Candidacy nominations for new president today

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The registration of candidacy for the election to the post of President is taking place Wednesday.

The Election Commission has called for candidacy nominations from those aspiring to become the third president of the country from 10 am to 2 pm today at the EC’s temporary office set up on the premises of parliament at New Baneshwar, according to Spokesperson for the Election Commission, Nawaraj Dhakal.

The election of the president for the second time since the promulgation of the constitution in 2015 will be as per the new law that allows provincial assembly members also to vote.

As per the election schedule, the final list of candidates would be published at 6 pm on March 8.

The Election Commission has published the voters’ list for the President election today. The members of the House of Representatives, the National Assembly and the State Assemblies are the voters. There are 880 voters for the election to the President.

However, the names of the three people nominated to the National Assembly by the President on the recommendation of the government and that of State Assembly member Rajib Gurung have not been included in the voters list.

ALSO READ :  President, PM garland Prithvi Narayan Shah's statue

The election to the post of president is taking place on March 13 in connection with implementation of the Constitution of Nepal after the election to the House of Representatives and the National Assembly. The time for the election is from 10 am to 3 pm.

The Parliament Building at Naya Baneshwar has been designated as the polling centre for the election.So far none of the political parties has officially announced their candidates to contest for the third President of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal.

Dr Ram Baran Yadav was elected the first President and the incumbent President Bidya Devi Bhandari is the second person elected to the post after the country was declared a republic.

Meanwhile, the 101st meeting of the CPN-UML Standing Committee has decided to endorse incumbent President Bidya Devi Bhandari’s candidacy for the next term of Office. The meeting that concluded late at Tuesday night made the decision.

With this decision, President Bhandari’s continuity into the next term is almost confirmed.

Continue Reading

Main News

Dahal says discussion about party unification process positive





KATHMANDU — CPN Maoist Center Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal Prachand has said the bilateral discussions regarding the unification between the party and CPN-UML are heading positively.

Chair Dahal apprised the extended meeting held today at his Khumaltar-based private residence of the progress in the unification process.

Talking to media persons following the meeting, party Spokesperson Pampha Bhusal said that time would be taken for uniting the parties.

ALSO READ :  New PM Oli vows to work with all parties

“The date for the unification cannot be declared right now,” she said while stressing the need to make no haste on the matter of making a new party by merging two political parties.

According to Spokesperson Bhusal, party chair Dahal briefed the meeting about his discussions with the UML chair regarding party unification committee’s reports.

Stating that bilateral talks and discussions on the political and organisational issues were heading positively, leader Dahal assured the meeting that merging process was going ahead to ensure the unification as per the interests of both parties and the nation, according to Spokesperson Bhusal.

Continue Reading
Advertisement Cheap Air fare and package tours!