Connect with us

Bus plunges into Trishuli River : Death toll reaches 19, 16 rescued alive [Update]

Gorkha Post



DHADING — The death toll in Dhading bus accident has reached 19, among them 7 are women, 4 children and 8 are men. 16 others sustained injuries after the bus they were travelling on skidded off the road and plunged into Trishuli River in Gajuri Rural Municipality-5 of Dhading district this morning.

The identities of those killed are yet to be ascertained, according to SP Dhruba Raj Raut at Dhading District Police Office.

The ill-fated bus, Na 4 Kha 1467, was heading towards Kathmandu from Rajbiraj when the accident took place at around 5 am today.

The incident occurred due to over-speed, police quoted injured persons as saying.

The overloaded bus was driven by driver Santosh Chaudhary at high speed after having dinner at Chandranigahapur, Rautahat, on Friday night, according to passengers.

It has been learnt that Chaudhary had also consumed alcohol while he was having dinner last night.

As many as 16 others have been rescued alive. According to area police office Gajuri, 13 among those injured are undergoing treatment at Gajuri Hospital while two others have been referred to Trauma Center in Kathmandu.

Security personnel from Nepal Police, Nepal Army and Armed Police Force with the help of locals, jointly rescued the injured passengers who were fallen into the river in the accident along the Prithvi Highway.

An injured passenger told police that the bus was carrying only 17 passengers from Rajbiraj but it added 35 passengers at Hetauda on the way.

Bus plunges into Trishuli River : 11 dead, 16 rescued alive, dozens missing [update]

Continue Reading


Regular bedtime beneficial for heart and metabolic health among older adults

Raghu Kshitiz



KATHMANDU — Sufficient sleep has been proven to help keep the body healthy and the mind sharp. But a new study on sleep patterns has suggested that a regular bedtime and wake time are just as important for heart and metabolic health among older adults too.

Researchers at Duke Health and the Duke Clinical Research Institute, in a study of 1,978 older adults, have found that people with irregular sleep patterns weighed more, had higher blood sugar, higher blood pressure, and a higher projected risk of having a heart attack or stroke within 10 years than those who slept and woke at the same times every day.

The study  was published Sept 21 in the journal Scientific Reports.

“From our study, we can’t conclude that sleep irregularity results in health risks, or whether health conditions affect sleep,” said study’s lead author Jessica Lunsford-Avery.

“Perhaps all of these things are impacting each other.”

African-Americans had the most irregular sleep patterns compared to participants who were white, Chinese-American or Hispanic, the data showed.

Still, the data suggest tracking sleep regularity could help identify people at risk of disease, and where health disparities may impact specific groups.

Irregular sleepers were also more likely to report depression and stress than regular sleepers, both of which are tied to heart health.

Continue Reading