Connect with us

Birtamod back to normalcy after all-party meet

Gorkha Post



JHAPA —  Life in Birtamod, Jhapa, started limping back to normalcy after an all-party meet where the District Administration Office (DAO) agreed to recommend the government to provide Rs 1 million compensation to the family of Naresh Thapa, who was shot dead by police during a protest that was organised on Friday demanding probe into the alleged murder of 11-year-old Laxman Shiwakoti.

The local administration had imposed a curfew in Birtamod after violence erupted in the area when 30-year-old Thapa of Arjundhara-11 was shot dead by police. More than 50 people, including some security personnel, were also injured in clashes.

According to the agreement reached in the meeting, the DAO shall recommend the Home Ministry to provide Rs 1 million compensation to Thapa’s family.

Similarly, Birtamod Municipality and the District Coordination Committee, Jhapa, shall also provide Rs 25,000 each to the families of Thapa and Shiwakoti while the Birtamod Chamber of Commerce and Industry shall provide Rs 10,000 each to the two families.There has also been an agreement to make arrangements for providing Thapa’s widows a job at the municipality.

Besides, it was also agreed that the authorities would recommend investigations into the alleged involvement of Deputy Superintendent of Police Raj Kumar Silwal of Anarmani Area Police Office in the firing incident and Shiwakoti’s death.

Political parties, people’s representatives, journalists and civil society, among others, have been requested to help normalise the situation.

Chief District Officer Rishiram Tiwari, Mayor of Birtamod Municipality Dhruba Kumar Shiwakoti, Deputy Mayor Pabitra Mahatara Prasai, among others, were present at the meeting.

Meanwhile, a high level probe team, formed by the Home Ministry, has initiated investigation into the incident.

Continue Reading


Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih wins presidency

Gorkha Post



MALE — Maldives opposition legislator Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has beaten incumbent Abdulla Yameen according to provisional results, the country’s Elections Commission says.

Results released by the Elections Commission showed Mr Solih securing 133,808 votes (58.3 percent) compared to the 95,526 for incumbent Abdulla Yameen. The voter turnout was over 88 per cent out of the 262,000-strong electorate.

The Maldives government has acknowledged the opposition’s victory after the vote on Sunday, a surprise defeat for President Abdulla Yameen who was widely expected to win.

There were no other candidates.

Mr Solih had the backing of a united opposition trying to oust Mr Yameen, but struggled for visibility with the electorate, with local media fearful of falling afoul of heavy-handed decrees and reporting restrictions.

“I call on Yameen to respect the will of the people and bring about a peaceful, smooth transfer of power,” Solih said on television, shortly after interim results from the country’s election commission.

“We have won this election with a comfortable majority,” Solih said.

Continue Reading