Connect with us

Main News

Bhawan Bhatta elected President of NRNA

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — Bhawan Bhatta has been elected as the Chairperson of Non-Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) through the 8th general convention held in the Capital on Monday night.

Bhatta outshined Ms Jamuna Ghale Gurung with total vote difference of 613 votes. Of the total 1,788 votes casted, Bhatta secured 1,197 to defeat Gurung

After being elected the top post, Bhatta said he would forward the incomplete agendas put forth by the apex umbrella body of 500 non-resident Nepalis (NRNs) since its establishment.

“Victory and defeat is common in election. I will try to move ahead uniting all the NRNs,” Bhatta said adding,”NRNA will forward the agendas including building construction, smart NRNA academy, Laprak Model Settlement and joint investment.”

Likewise, Kumar Panta and Kul Acharya have been elected as vice-presidents. Pant has been reelected as vice-president for the second time by securing 1,030 votes, said Kul Prasad Pandey, member of the election committee.

ALSO READ :  Gaur protest called off

Sapila Rajbhandari has been elected as women vice-president securing 1,054 votes. The general convention has elected Dr Badri Bahadur KC as general secretary of the Association defeating Yam Gurung and Arjun Shrestha.

Similarly, Dambar Bahadur Chhetri and Janaki Gurung won the secretary posts. Hikmatn Bahadur Thapa was re-elected as Treasurer while Somnath Sapkota won the Joint Treasurer post.

The election committee informed that Bhuma Devi Limbu won the Woman Coordinator post while Sudan Thapa claimed victory as Youth Coordinator.

Continue Reading

Main News

PM Oli expands cabinet, 15 new ministers inducted

Gorkha Post



15 new ministers inducted. RSS photo

KATHMANDU — Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has has expanded the Cabinet inducting 15 new ministers from his party CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Centre), increasing the size of his Cabinet to 22 on Friday.With this, the cabinet led by PM Oli has been extended to 21 members.

Six lawmakers from CPN-UML and five from CPN Maoist Centre lawmakers have been inducted as Ministers to the Cabinet. Likewise, three lawmakers are included as Minister of State.

The newly appointed ministers and state ministers were administered the oath of office at President’s office in Sheetal Niwas, by President Bidya Devi Bhandari at Sheetal Niwas amid an official function.

ALSO READ :  2 killed in bus-tipper collision

The newly ministers are as follows :


Gokarna Bista – Minister for Labour and Employment
Pradeep Kumar Gyawali – Minister for Foreign Affairs
Rabindra Adhikari – Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation
Jagat Bishwakarma – Minister for Youth and Sports
Sher Bahadur Tamang – Minister for Law
Raghubir Mahaseth – Minister for Physical Infrastructure Planning and Development
Gokul Baskota – State Minister for Information and Communication
Padma Kumari Aryal -State Minister for Health and Polulation

CPN Maoist Centre

Barsha Man Pun -Minister for Energy and Water Resources
Giriraj Mani Pokharel – Minister for Education
Shakti Basnet – Minister of Forestry
Chakrapani Khanal – Minister for Agriculture and Cooperatives
Bina Magar – Minister for Drinking Water
Ram Kumari Chaudhary – State Minister for Agriculture and Cooperatives

PM Oli, earlier in the second expansion of his Cabinet,   had appointed CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Ram Bahadur Thapa as Minister for Home Affairs, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Matrika Yadav as Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies, former governor Yabaraj Khatiwada as Minister for Finance, and CPN-UML’s Ishwor Pokharel as Defence Minister.

Continue Reading