Main News Sports

ANFA announces 23-member squad against Tajikistan

KATHMANDU — The All Nepal Football Association has announced 23-member national football squad for Nepal’s home fixture against Tajikistan for AFC Asian Cup 2019 Qualifiers.

Chief coach Gyotoku Koji announced the team at a news conference organized here on Saturday.

Nepal will take on Tajikistan at the ANFA playground at Satdobato in Lalitpur on Tuesday in the match to be played under the Asian Cup-2019 qualifiers.

The players selected for the tournament include Kiran Kumar Limbu, Bishal Shrestha and Bikesh Kuthu as goalkeepers, and Biraj Maharjan, Ananta Tamang, Dinesh Rajbanshi, Jitendra Karki, Devendra Tamang, Aditya Chaudhary and Kamal Shrestha as defenders.

ALSO READ :  Nepal to play with Uzbekistan in AFC U23 Qualifiers tonight

Similarly,  Anjan Bishta, Bikram Lama, Bishal Rai, Sunil Bal, Heman Gurung, Rohit Chand, Suman Lama, Hemanta Thapa Magar and Sujal Shrestha have been included as mid-fielders while Bimal Gharti Magar, George Prince Karki, Navayug Shrestha and Bharat Khawas as strikers in the Nepali squad.

Nepal’s striker Anil Gurung has been overlooked over Nepal Army player George Prince Karki. It has been learned that Gurung was about to make his 50th national cap in a game against Tajikistan and hang his boots.

Defender Aditya Chaudhary has made a comeback to the national fold following his injury lay off.