Connect with us

Amber Gurung felicitated with Rastra Gayak title

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — Lyricist, singer and composer Amber Gurung on Wednesday felicitated with the Rastra Gayak title at a function held at the Diplomat Colony, Budhanilkantha, in the Capital which was organised by Ajar Amar Geetharu, an organisation led by filmmaker and poet Prakash Sayami.

The title, passed by a cabinet meeting, was presented upon Gurung by Deputy Prime Minister Bhim Rawal. It was likewise announced that the government would bear all future medicinal costs of Gurung.

Born (in 1938) and raised in Darjeeling, India, Gurung has written three books of lyrics and memoirs–Samaalera Raakha (1969), Akcharkaa Awajharu (2003), and an anthology of essays and memoirs, Kahaa Gae Ti Dinharu(2006).

78-year-old Gurung has composed more than a 1,000 songs along with the National Anthem Sayaun Thunga Fulka hami, including the era-defining numbers Nau Lakhe Tara and Rato Ra Chandra Surya.

Gurung has also won more than two dozen lifetime awards and felicitations along with the Uttam Shanti Shahitya Puraskar in 2007, including Uttam Shanti Shahitya Puraskar in 2007, Kantipur FM Lifetime Achievement Award in 2006, Hits FM Lifetime Achievement Award in 2001, and Jagadamba Shree in 1998, among others.

During the event, minister Rawal also recited a poem, titled Amber timi Amar Rahu. Singers Tara Thapa, Meera rana, Sangeeta Shakya, Suraj Thapa and Benuka Rai, among others were also performing during the event.

Continue Reading


PM congratulates Nepali national cricket team





KATHMANDU— Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has congratulated Nepali national cricket team for being able to clinch the International T20 series.

PM Oli in a tweet extended best wishes and congratulations saying he was very happy to know Nepal’s win over the UAE by 14 runs in the third match of the series.

Winning T20 series is another landmark success for Nepali cricket, he said, adding, “It is big achievement for Nepal’s cricket. I would like to heartily congratulate entire members of Nepali cricket squad”.

Continue Reading