Connect with us


90th Academy Awards: The Shape of Water wins four awards

Gorkha Post



LOS ANGELES — The 90th Academy Awards or Oscars, the highest honors in the movie industry, confronted the post-Harvey Weinstein era in a ceremony punctuated by political moments and historic wins, including Netflix’s first feature-film award and the transgender drama ‘A Fantastic Woman’ winning best foreign language film.

The Awards were handed out on Sunday at a ceremony in Hollywood, hosted by comedian Jimmy Kimmel.

The Cold War fantasy film The Shape of Water won the best picture Academy Award. The movie, that stars Sally Hawkins as a mute janitor who falls in love with an aquatic creature kept captive in a government lab, received a leading 13 nominations for this year’s Oscars, and won four Oscars on Sunday night.

Likewise, Gary Oldman won the Oscar for the Best Lead Actor for the film ‘The Darkest Hour’. It is Oldman’s first win on only his second nomination, despite his lengthy career of compelling performances.

ALSO READ :  Sonam Kapoor to marry Delhi-based businessman on May 8

The award for Best Lead Actress went to Frances McDormand for her role in ‘Three Billboards outside Ebbing, Missouri’. The actress already bagged the SAG and BAFTA awards for the same film.

Following is the list of winners in key categories for the awards:

Best Picture: The Shape of Water

Best Actor: Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour

Best Director: Guillermo del Toro – The Shape of Water

Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney – I, Tonya

Best Animated Film: Coco

Best Documentary Film: Icarus

Best Actress: Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Original Screenplay: Get Out

Best Adapted Screenplay: Call Me By Your Name

Best Foreign Language Film: A Fantastic Woman – Chile

Original Song: Remember Me – Coco

Continue Reading


Korean Pop Cover Dance Competition -2018 to be held in Kathmandu





KATHMANDU- Korean Pop Cover Dance Competition -2018 is to be held in the capital on December 14 with the objective of cultural exchange between Nepal and Korea by means of dance.

The dance competition is taking place at the Rastriya Naachghar at Jamal at 1 pm on December 14. Twenty six dance groups are competing in the contest being organized by Struck Pop in association with Youth for Change.

The Invincible Events and Management is managing the event.

ALSO READ :  Taylor Swift releases the first look of new music video

The 26 dance troupes were selected from total 150 groups through the first selection round held in Butwal, Narayangadh, Dharan, Pokhara and Kathmandu.

The team coming out first in the competition will bag Rs 30,000; the team standing second Rs 20,000 and the team coming third Rs 10,000, the founding director of Struck Pop, Sresh Moktan, said.

Struck Pop is a Korean dance troupe constituted in 2015. It has been carrying out various activities related to Korean dance since its inception.

Continue Reading