Connect with us

500 climbers ascend Mt Everest this season




SOLUKHUMBU — This year’s spring climbing season has ended with the total 500 climbers having made it to the top of Mt Everest.

The expedition that started from May 15 lasted about 15 days and 500 mountaineers scaled the tallest peak of 8,848 meters, according to the Department of Tourism.

The total 500 climbers including the Sherpa guides took permission from the Department divided into 42 expedition teams, a Department official said.

Besides, some expedition teams had to return midway due to bad weather, said Gyanendra Shrestha, the government liaison officer based at the base camp. Some of them are on the way down while others have already returned to Kathmandu, he added.

Meanwhile, an Indian national Anshu Jamsenpa who set a new record by climbing Mt Everest two times in a single week in this year’s season was honoured by the Department.

Jamsenpa was presented with a certificate amid a function.

More details of the expedition teams are yet to come by as the climbers are on their way back to the base camp, said the Department Chief Durga Datta Dhakal.

The total five mountaineers (one Nepali and four foreigners) and a cook were killed this year due to various reasons on the climbing course.

Continue Reading


Indian truck driver held with 213 kg hashish and 2.250 kg opium

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The Narcotics Control Bureau has arrested an Indian truck driver with 213 kg hashish and 2.250 kg opium from Kalanki on Sunday.

NCB, acting on a tip-off, intercepted the Indian truck with registration number WB 23 B 5885 and assrested Meraz Alam, 25, of Bihar. The truck, which entered Nepal from India yesterday offloaded a consignment of maize in Hetauda of Makwanpur and headed to Dhading to load the hashish and opium provided by local racketeers, according to police.

The drugs were concealed in two false compartment made in cargo space of the truck.

Police said that, Alam allegedly used the truck to smuggle drugs to India for long time.

Meanwhile, the narco police had launched an investigation to ascertain the racketeer who supplied the hard drugs to Indian smugglers.

Continue Reading