Connect with us

5-member Constituency Delimitation Commission formed

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — The government has formed a five-member Electoral Constituency Delimitation Commission  under former Justice Kamal Narayan Das on Thursday.

Bishwo Kalyan Parajuli, Madhav Adhikari and Ganesh Raj Karki are the members of the CDC while Yogendra Sharma is appointed as its member secretary.

The government has mandated the commission to carry out delineation of federal boundaries within 21 days in view of the upcoming provincial and federal elections.

The CDC will delineate the election constituencies after studying the demographic and geographical composition and societal structure of the country.

Currently, there are 240 election constituencies. There will be two provincial assembly election constituencies in each   parliamentary constituency. The Election Commission had urged the government to complete the task of constituency delineations by July 30.

The cabinet meeting held on Thursday also approved the resignation of Chief Secretary Somlal Subedi.

Continue Reading


Quake epicenter Barpak to see international-level museum





GORKHA— Minister for Financial Affairs and Planning of Gandaki Province, Kiran Gurung said the province government has chalked out a plan to ensure electricity, drinking water and road to the access of all people within coming five years.

Inaugurating a branch office of Sadhana Microfinance at Barpak Sutikot Rural Municiplaity-1 on Sunday, he said, “The province government is working with the perspective plan to bring economic changes in the province”.

He further noted all the federal, provincial and local governments are outlining their respective plans to develop Nepal as a prosperous nation keeping people’s needs at the centre.

Minister Gurung suggested the financial institutions to lay emphasis on productive sector while making investments which could only contribute to thrive the national economy.

Importantly the province government has put forth a plan to construct a museum of international standard at Barpak, the epicenter of the 2015 earthquake, for the promotion of the area, he shared.

The province government also has come up with a programme to run 300 home stay in order to attract domestic and foreign tourists.

Continue Reading