Connect with us

3 vehicles vandalized, 172 banda enforcers held in Valley

Gorkha Post



KATHMANDU — At least three vehicles were vandalized by transport entrepreneurs and workers during their nationwide transport strike (chakka jam) on Thursday morning.

According to police, banda enforcers have vandalized a TATA Sumo, Ba 1 Jha, 4813 and a Taxi, Ba 2 Jha, 2000, at Teku and another Taxi, Ba 1 Jha 1599, at Maharajgunj this morning.

The transport entrepreneurs have enforced chakkajam in the Kathmandu Valley since early morning today in protest of the increment of the penalty slapped for breaching traffic rules.

The transport entrepreneurs have brought public transport to halt protesting the hefty rise in the traffic police fine to the range of Rs 500 to Rs 1,500 from existing Rs 25 to Rs 200 that came in to effect since last May 14.

Deputy Superintendant of Police (DSP) at Metropolitan Traffic Police Division Gyanendra Pakhrin, no public vehicles except those carrying most essential goods are plying on the road in the capital today.

The Traffic Act was amended on 29 June 2015 introducing a new provision to increase penalty for routing traffic rules to be effective from May 14.

Meanwhile, Police have arrested a total of 172 strike enforcers from Kathmandu for allegedly obstructing the traffic movement, said SSP Sharad Chand, Spokesperson at Metropolitan city Police office.

With RSS inputs

Continue Reading


PM congratulates Nepali national cricket team





KATHMANDU— Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has congratulated Nepali national cricket team for being able to clinch the International T20 series.

PM Oli in a tweet extended best wishes and congratulations saying he was very happy to know Nepal’s win over the UAE by 14 runs in the third match of the series.

Winning T20 series is another landmark success for Nepali cricket, he said, adding, “It is big achievement for Nepal’s cricket. I would like to heartily congratulate entire members of Nepali cricket squad”.

Continue Reading