Connect with us

14-member national cricket team formed




KATHMANDU — A 14-member national cricket team has been announced for the ICC World Cricket League Division Two under the leadership of Nepali cricket team captain Paras Khadka.

The tournament is to be held in Namibia next month.

The players have been selected from among 21 players chosen in the first phase by ICC’s representative Aminul Islam, head coach of the Nepali cricket team Jagat Tamata and Khadka.

The other team members include Gynendra Malla (deputy captain), Shakti Gauchan, Basanta Regmi, Sharad Bheshwakar, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Mohammad Aarif Shekh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Sandip Lamichhane, Dilip Nath, Lalit Singh Bhandari, Anil Kumar Shah, Rohit Kumar Poudel and replacement players Sunil Dhamala, Lalit Narayan Rajbamshi, Kishor Mahato and Siddhanta Lohani.

Of the players, Shah and Poudel, who have already performed in the EPL 20-Twenty held last month, are new face to be incorporated in the national team.

Before heading to Namibia on scheduled February 4 to play ICC World Cricket League Division Two scheduled to start from February 8, the Nepali team will go to UAE on January 27 for practice matches.

Continue Reading

Main News

Nirmala Panta rape, murder case : Locals protest after wrong suspect paraded

Gorkha Post



BHIMDUTTANAGAR — Locals who were protesting against the rape and murder of Nirmala Panta of Kanchanpur’s Bhimdatta Municipality, have enforced shutdown in Bhimduttanagar Bazaar on Tuesday, protesting police’s failure to reveal facts behind the murder of 13-year-old girl and parading wrong suspect on Monday.

The District Police Office, organising a press conference on Monday,had made public Dilip Singh Bista (41), of Baghphanta, Bhimdatta Municipality-19 as Nirmala’s murderer.

Locals have shut down the market area stating that police were not being able to make public the true murderer(s) as they are not convinced by the findings of police citing that Bista was mentally unsound, according to the District Police Office.

Transportation has also been halted.

Bista, a resident of Khanna Chauraha area in Bhimdutta Municipality-19, was apprehended near the scene of crime on Sunday, according to police.

Police making public the wrong suspect has infuriated the locals and fueled the protest.

The agitators including various civil society organisations and human rights defenders have been picketing the District Administration Office and staging rally on the street mounting pressure on the police to reveal the facts behind the heinous crime.

Meanwhile, it had been learnt that police have fired rounds of teargas shells to contain the agitated mob.

Nirmala was found murdered in a sugarcane field on July 27, a day after she had gone to her friend’s home to get a notebook.

Continue Reading